RESERVE.

in Freewriterslast month

pexels-photo-4386367.jpeg

source

"You are divorcing me?"

Mark asked his wife, Jo Ann who looked him straight in the eyes.

"The government has seized all your properties and your accounts have been frozen. What do you expect me to continue doing here?"

"We can always leave this place to start afresh elsewhere."

"With what? You expect me to live in penury with you?"

"No, I could raise another capital and start again. I know the situation is not good, and I'm not happy about it too, but we can at least persevere together."

"You should have thought of the consequences of your actions before evading tax. I don't have time for all these, I'm out of here."

Jo Ann exits the room, dragging her suitcases behind her.

Mark smiled at her departure, if only she knew. He was under investigation for tax evasion and he had no access to anything that belonged to him. Someone of his calibre and experience knew that it was always wise to prepare ahead for scenarios like that.

He had some tidy sum set aside in different offshore accounts that couldn't be traced to him. He was going to use it to set up business elsewhere. He would be out of town first thing in the morning, it was time to use the other capital.