Tentacle – #freewrite 36, Day 1102

in Freewriters4 years ago

My friend, she had her tentacles on me the moment I laid eyes on her. I resisted, of course, who wouldn’t, but it was no use. She was strong; I was weak.

My rubber suit shredded. Salt stung inside the cuts. Her hold slipped down from my upper arms across my biceps to near my elbows: maybe my resistance worked.

I struggled. My friend, I’ve never fought so hard in my life, down there in the dark and cold. I remember jellyfish undulating upwards toward the distant light, so leisurely in their movement, while a death match ensued in the space right next to them.

I felt my strength playing out. Soon it would be over; I would be sucked into the gaping maw. I closed my eyes – and when I opened them I saw hospital sheets, an IV bag, a needle in my arm. I had no idea how I had arrived there, but I thought I was saved.

The nurse arrived to check on me. I was so eager to speak to another human, my friend, but it was not so.

The nurse, my future wife, had the same eyes as the sea creature – and nevermore will I be free of her.

jellyfish2121429_1920.jpg
Photo by Skadis, from Pixabay: https://pixabay.com/users/skadis-468215/


Never – nevermore

Startled at the stillness broken by reply so aptly spoken,
“Doubtless,” said I, “what it utters is its only stock and store
Caught from some unhappy master whom unmerciful Disaster
Followed fast and followed faster till his songs one burden bore–
Till the dirges of his Hope that melancholy burden bore
Of ‘Never – nevermore.’”

from “The Raven,” by Edgar Allen Poe

Sort:  

Congratulations @cliffagreen! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 500 replies. Your next target is to reach 600 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

October 2020 is the World Mental Heath Month