A New Friend

Fate led me to this forsaken place,
And I found a poor dog wandering the halls.
His fur was matted with dried blood,
And his eyes were dull and distant.
He appeared to have been hurt quite badly,
But he still wagged his tail when I called him.
I think he must have belonged to someone dear,
Or else he just felt lost and alone in this world gone mad.
I can't leave him here, though the risk is great
To venture into this broken place.
But if I can just get him to a safe place,
Then maybe he'll find some consolation in life once more.



This was a poetic tale from the city of Lazarus, A dystopian metropolis half sunken in the sea, along with ai art created with stable diffusion inspired by the words of the poem. War and climate change took its toll on this and every other city we know. This is one short tale of a young woman and her daily life surviving in the ruble of the modern world.