You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Day 18:42 5 Minute Freewrite: Monday - Prompt: carpet

in Freewriterslast year (edited)

The Golden Rule covers it all, as Sgt. Trent's father said, and as Grayson's foster mom with an adult and Sgt. Trent himself with a certain little genius builder child illustrate... but literally Jesus saves us every day... I once used the Golden Rule in the face of a would-be killer, and only found out on the news ...

Sort:  

Wow, Thank God that you are a kind person, he has your back.

God is good ... at the time I was teaching school in that neighborhood and was praying for the kids and the neighborhood every day. So: as it happened, this would-be killer had asked me for directions to go find the street where the man he wanted to kill lived. I smiled and gave him directions, not knowing ... but as it happened, he missed the man and everyone else, and when he ran out of bullets, he put his gun down and surrendered to the police, who likewise didn't shoot him. No one was hurt. God is good ALL THE TIME, and ALL THE WAY AROUND. Jesus is saving us out here -- and others, through our obedience -- every day.

This story would put anyone on their knees. I am so glad that he did not take his anger out on you. God knows what He is doing, never doubt it, but I know you don't.

The elders used to pray, "Thank You, Lord, for protecting us from dangers seen and unseen" and He does...

I should mention that he didn't tell me he was going to kill the man ... I only found that out later because the names and times matched up...

Still, this is scary.

It was and is ... if the Lord had not had His hand on the whole situation, we are talking multiple fatalities, possibly including mine.