Catnap.

WARNING! TURN BACK! Twee cat story ahead...

cat-g100bef672_640.jpg

Harold had been looking after Hetty since he was a kitten, in fact as long as he could remember. They rubbed along pretty well together with an arrangement that suited them both; comfort and companionship for each other during their declining years.

Harold knew Hetty’s every habit and routine, from her happy humming in the morning as the kettle boiled to her afternoon snooze around four when he’d curl up on her lap to keep her warm and safe from all comers.

But this morning no tune, not a sound, not a movement. He’d tried his most plaintive meow, his loudest purr, but nothing. In desperation he’d even retrieved his latest tribute, a tiny vole, from the kitchen mat and laid it on her pillow, an activity absolutely forbidden, but still she lay motionless.

Now from his vantage point nestled amongst the toilet roll and the other disparate items which seemed always to reside in Hetty’s bag, a hungry Harold pondered his next move.

Posted in response to @freewritehouse's 'Every picture tells a story' prompt. The prompt is the picture above.

Sort:  

OH NO! I am so sad now! Great story! So happy to have you back!

Oh no! Don't be sad. Harold was taken to heaven a few days later, reunited with Hetty and they both 'lived' happily ever after.

OK I feel better.

Me too! (feel better) - the way " a hungry Harold pondered his next move" reminded me of my sister's high school classmate, a bachelor who died at home (cardiac arrest?) and his mother found him a few days later - after the hungry cats had - done what pet dogs are said to never do - I cannot imagine that mother checking on her son and finding him dead - and I try never to remember this story.
Love the cat photo, though, and love Harold and Hetty and the happily ever here-after!

Carol, I just read your post. My heart goes out to you, you poor soul.

Thank you.
The "poor soul" is each of my sisters - gone! - while I, for no reason, get to live.
Death is no respecter of persons, cancer is no respecter of social class or wealth....

Happy to see you active here again!!! 😀

Aw, thanks sweetie. Glad to see you're still knocking around and as engaging as ever.

Well hello there stranger, welcome back!! I hope all is well with you and you are getting familiar with the new surroundings in Hive. I have to say it is so much better than the other place!

Aw, thanks very much m'dear. I was moving house the day steemit was 'taken over', then I had no internet for a few weeks so I didn't make it over to Hive. You know what it's like, you just lose the habit.

Ya I left for around a year myself, go fed up with the bullshit in fighting and vote bots etc.. Hive is much better and good content actually gets rewarded fairly now and people have the chance to grow. I hope the house move went well.

I moved from what used to be Dublin down to the wilds of Tipperary and it's the best move I ever made. Delighted to see you're around.

Brilliant stuff, we also moved back West to Galway last year - great move for us to. You'll be neighbours with @blanchy now :)

Shh, I haven't told him yet!

Ah jaysus . @deirdyweirdy in in my neck of the woods. If you are in the Mel pop in for a coffee. That goes for you too @ablaze

Ah Blanch, I was hoping to break it to you gently. You'll be relieved to hear I'm about 30k from Clonmel close to the 'Caiseal' and I don't drive:)

Harold can try the cupboards and break free. He sounds like a dog to me.
What a sadness (bags are safe).

Thanks for joining pic1000. 👍

Congratulations @deirdyweirdy! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 5250 replies.
Your next target is to reach 5500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

CBRS Hive Infographic Contest - Get your badge and win 1000 HIVE
Our Hive Power Delegations to the October PUM Winners
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!