5 Minute Freewrite: The dog that loves carrots

This one is a little different.

The years of 2018 and 2019 were full of heartache for my family. We tragically lost all three of our dogs to different types of cancer and it left a void in our household.

It was strange not having the click-clack of claws on the floor when we were in the living room watching a movie with the children.

It was odd not having someone excited to see me when I came home from work every day, and then leaning against my legs until I scratched him right behind his ears.

Our German Shepherds shed a lot. The lack of dog hair around the house was oddly uncomfortable for us, we were accustomed to vacuuming daily and religiously using a lint brush on our clothing.

We made it a few months before adopting a rescue puppy, a female German Shepherd, through an outstanding rescue organization that we helped in the past. The girls named the puppy "Pancake" after a beloved dog of ours named "Flapjack". This young dog helped heal our broken hearts and brought joy to my kids. My wife also gained a clingy, fuzzy, snuggle buddy that won't leave her alone.

Pancake loves food, including anything the kids drop on the floor. Her favorite treat, however, are carrots. The dog will do nearly anything for a carrot and it made training her a breeze.

The pictures are from her on her 1st birthday.

I made her a small carrot cake!

148006fb-3e6d-4a8f-9ee2-80b5a5049048871495088176576348.jpg

carrot cake.jpg

Sort:  

My heart goes out to you, we lost all 3 of our pets in a 3 month period. 2 dogs and a cat. A 12-year-old Rottweiler, 14-year-old dachshund, and our cat was 21. The loneliness was terrible but my husband could not bear to go through that again and refused to let me get another one. Now we are caring for our granddaughter's dog. I am so happy that you did not let that stop you from giving another dog a good home. Pancake is a beauty. Our rotty loved watermelon.

Congratulations @dyson-the-booper! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 70 posts.
Your next target is to reach 80 posts.
You distributed more than 700 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 800 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 22
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I can totally understand how you felt about losing the dogs. I am glad that you found Pancake 🥞 ❤😳.

Glad you found a new pupper to love! !LUV

@masterofwolves(1/1) gave you LUV. H-E tools | connect | <><