By The Telephone!

in Freewriters7 months ago (edited)

source

It is twenty past ten
and I am sitting by the telephone
waiting for those sweet thrill
to absorb my lonely moments..

shadows of the day far gone
the night rapidly closing in
the sound of the clock ticking
says you should have called awhile ago...

In quiet solitude, my heart races
oh! this tightening in my chest
and I wish the phone would ring
to bring me Love's sweet solace...

It is a deafening silence
with minutes stretching endlessly
my eyes fluttering in uncertainty
and I am lost in the darkest of night...

Lord, not in the cruel cold sea again
no, not in empty and shattered promises
no, not another scar to my ailing soul
but a love indefatigable I pray...

Then the phone rings!!!
an exciting melody in my new song
a beautiful rose blooming this Summer
the magical Sun rising in its imperiality...

I hear the voice I love
I dream of the words you say
'hours apart, many miles away,
in every second, I will live for you alone'...

An original poem written by me.

Thank you for stopping by my neighbourhood.