Say 'Forever'

in Freewriters8 months ago (edited)


(free image from pexels)

Preface; It happens again, you can't fathom it. Just when you feel you have the real thing, it effervesces, leaving you disenchanted, disillusioned. Some are lucky to have it, others are not so lucky...

An empty shell
burning in a crucible
A heart hollow
enamored by your lies...

a thousand stars
shrouded by the dark
this Summer rain
mingling with my tears...

I choose a life
feeling your love
basking in your smile
serenaded by your song...

Say 'forever'
was all I wanted
my Romeo
was all I wished for...

Now the Sun dims
Sitting in obscurity
you say 'never'
just passing by
to catch some fun perhaps
and to strew your path
with my shattered heart...

And you left
your sturdy steps sure
taking you far away from me
taking 'forever' with you...

say ' forever'
was all I wanted
stay forever
was all I wished for....

An original poem written by me.

Thank you for stopping by my neighbourhood