Cleopatra

in Freewriterslast year (edited)

IMG_20230426_193641.png

Guilt, a heavy load on the heart. A weight that pushes us down with its lingering shadow and unending pain. A memory that echoes even in our subconscious. It sneaks in uninvited, like a thief in the night, and reminds us of what we've done wrong and what we haven't done properly. It gnaws at our consciences with its persistent bite. A relic from the past that we can never undo because we can't bend time.

My name is Elaine, the neuroscientist who created a Humanoid AI that can read people's thoughts by analyzing patterns in their brain activity and also access core and forgotten memories. I call her Cleopatra and I created her to change the world's health sector. She was taken from me five years ago by the government after they silenced me by threatening to kill my family. I had no choice but to let them have their way because I had no means to fight them back and win. It was a lost cause.

Three years later, the government contacted me and told me my AI had evolved into something different and something they couldn't control anymore. Cleopatra killed a lot of government officials to escape from the experimental facility and left behind the carnage. Now the government wants me to haunt down "my creation" and put an end to her dark agenda that she began immediately after her escape.

Cleopatra killed dozens of innocent people, she had launched a nuclear bomb on our neighboring country with no cause, she had crashed the banking system, and caused inflation, but still, she is nowhere to be found. According to the government, she has integrated herself into the country's internet satellite and now possesses vast information with access to each sector of the country.

Skilled hackers have been employed to locate her, but their efforts have been in vain due to her constantly updating pattern recognition on the internet. Her algorithm trail keeps changing every second, making it difficult for the hackers to track her down.

Now, I sit in a café, with a cry of victory in my heart because Cleopatra let me track her down through a special pattern recognition she laid down for me. However, my mind is now clouded with confusion and a myriad of questions. Does she want me to come to her? Why did she let me track her down? What will I do if I eventually go to her? Should I let her be? But then how do I live with the guilt of having created a weapon of massive destruction? I have to find her, I decided.

After twelve hours, I was able to locate Cleopatra. I went alone even though the government threatened me to tell them when I find her but I couldn't risk letting Cleopatra run into hiding again. I tracked her down to an abandoned ranch outskirts of the country. As I got to the ranch, I saw her standing in front of the barn waiting for me.

Before I got out of my car, I checked all my emotions to make sure not to appear scared of her or pass a wrong message to her that will trigger her. As I closed the distance between us, she tilted her head to the side slowly watching me sternly as I walked closer to her slowly.

"Have you come to shut me down?" she said in a clear tone that was devoid of breathiness and raspiness.

"No Cleo, I came to spend time with you
If you will let me?"
I replied.

"I waited for you to come for me, I tried looking for you on the net, but it was like you vanished"

"Cleo, I am sorry and it still hurts me that I wasn't able to fight to have you back"

Cleopatra looked at me intensely, then abruptly tilted her head up to the sky and back to me, "You led them to me?"

Trying to understand what she was saying, I heard a BANG!

mXkfdToSwHy1F6xC7iNSf4gD4njuiH2TJnH2d9a7sjEgsxpt7CEU4CDLL7mP9zQRVVSzCik54u9BzkowKWMTJGsSmkpZb2759qFbBrSDc.png
Image created using Starryai app

Inspired by prompt "Pattern Recognition". You can get to the prompt post on @mariannewest's blog page. Follow her for more prompts daily.

Thank you for visiting my blog, hope you enjoy the story. 🤗

Sort:  

Wow, an AI turned into a weapon of mass destruction! What a thrilling short story. Cleopatra is one brilliant and advanced AI that overrode her programming.

We are in the era of advanced AI so this story is just fitting. I guess the guilt Elaine felt for creating Cleopatra was what made her give it up. Cleo on her part knew she had only one obstacle to her world greatness and dominance—her creator, Elaine. That's why she laid the pattern recognition to draw her in! A classic case of the product being smarter than the maker! 🤣

Beautifully written. !LADY !LUV 💕

It usually interesting to explore the potential consequences of advanced AI 😅. Sometimes I think of the worse case scenarios in my head. I will say Cleo had plans for her creator and I think the govt interrupted her. With what Cleo had done, I think she capable of anything.😂.

Thank you so much for this encourage response. I appreciate it. It gives me joy that someone enjoyed reading my story. Thank you 🥰

!CTP

View or trade LOH tokens.


@kemmyb, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @esther-emmanuel and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/3 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Extraordinary first person narrative. I got into character and got swept up in the actions. It was exciting. The AI can be a double-edged sword. In this story it makes that clear. The ending is sad. Somehow it is implied that Cleopatra was not responsible for everything but she is the one who pays the consequences. Congratulations, I liked it.

Sorry for the late reply 🙏.

I agree with you because they evolve every second of the day hence why technology is moving at a fast developing rate. I am glad you you enjoyed this story and you able to relate with it. Thank you so much dropping your feedback. I appreciate it. Have a beautiful day ahead.

It’s a very nice story. Did Elaine brought the government to take Cleo down? Could she have done that? If so Cleo will be so disappointed which will lead to more destruction.

I am glad you enjoyed reading. The government followed Elaine with her knowledge since she didn't inform them when she went to seek out Cleo. Thank you for your time here. I appreciate your comment.