The Magic Yeast - A Daily freewrite prompt.

in Freewriters2 years ago (edited)

photo-1626540110243-e0621585d6b4.jpeg
source

As a struggling baker in Paris, Antoine Monet was on the verge of bankruptcy and soon his beloved family cafe - Le café savoureux - would be repossessed by the Bank.

Oh, but what could Antoine possibly do? I mean it was one thing for him to be 13 month short on his mortgages but another for him to lose his beloved cafe, his livelihood, and possibly his freedom too!

Oh Mamma Mia! What am I gonna do!

Antoine would often complain but little did he know he's life was about to change for the better...

bridge-53769_640.jpg
source

On one particular morning, Antoine took a stroll down the Square du Vert-Galant park, a very beautiful city park in Paris; and as Antoine passed the beautiful lake which were inhabited by delightful looking swans, he couldn't help but ponder about his impending doom which was to befall on him in the shape of his unpayed bank debts.

Ah... What am I gonna do?

Antoine said lowly to himself as he sat on the bench near the lake. Cheerfully and then sadly, he watched as the swans danced their way around the water synchronously almost as if dancing to some tune.

Ha!

Antoine laughed and marveled at the sight of this and then reached into his coat to reward the bird's entertainment with a small Baguette he had kept in the pocket.

swan-2494925_640.jpg
source

Good bread no? Aii... enjoy it now my friends, for it just might be the last one I will ever bake.

As Antoine spoke these few words to the swans he didn't notice that a mysterious looking old man had sat down beside him.

Hmm... Why do you feed the birds?

The man asked and Antoine a little startled by the old man replied

Uhm... Because they dance so beautifully and I thought I should reward them.

Hmm... I see. That baguette you're holding - did you bake it?

The man asked again.

Why yes! I am a proud baker... Well at least, I was...

Antoine replied

Was? Why do you say that?

The man inquired.

Well you see, my bakery is about to get repossessed by the bank because I was short on payment of my mortgages and soon I will become bankrupt and lose everything. Oh, it looks as though my bakery days are over.

Antoine spoke lowly.

Okay. Well do you have a solution for this?

The old man replied.

Well... No. Not really. I don't think there's a solution Monsieur, I... I just don't know!

Antoine wailed.

I've tried everything, I have baked everything yet, yet, nobody would buy my pastry. No one even comes to my cafe anymore.

Why not? Is the food that bad?

The old man said chuckling but then Antoine gave a had grown.

Pardonne-moi, I am only trying to understand. Here, why don't you give me the baguette let me the judge.

The man said as he reached for Antoine's baguette while Antoine gave it to him reluctantly.

Then, Antoine watched as the old man bit a small piece of the loaf and sat on the chair quiet. Minuets passed and still the old man sat on the chair quiet and motionless as if he had fallen into some state of paralysis right until... He spoke:

Your problem is not the loaf my child. Here...

The man handed him a little bottle he kept in his old briefcase.

Yeast? What in the?... What am I suppose to do with this?

Antoine asked a little bit aggrevated.

Change your recipe!

The man replied.

What do you mean change my recipe? Am I suppose to bake with this thing?

Antoine spoke with full on skepticism.

Look Monsieur, I appreciate you trying to help me but, I already have the perfect yeast for my Baguettes.

It's not for your Loaf silly.

The Old man replied.

Pardon?...

Antoine said confused.

Listen to me. Take this bottle of yeast and spray it on the entrance of your cafe every morning. It should help with your problem.

The old man commanded him with a much lighter but serious tone before he got up from the chair.

When Le café savoureux is back on it's feet, I hope you don't forget this.

The man spoke one last time before he walked away.

Antoine, still in confusion was very reluctant to use the Yeast that the strange man had given him but soon after, desperation set in and Antoine did what was instructed by the old man in the park - to spray the yeast on the entrance of his cafe. And surprisingly, it worked!
Business was booming again and Antoine had made enough money to pay at least a quarter of his debt which prompted the bank to increase his loan span.

photo-1428895009712-de9e58a18409.jpeg
source

Oh, life was great now! And Antoine was in the epitomy of success and happiness but soon, the magical yeast which the strange old man gave to him started running out and Antoine was obliged to find some more - he had to find the old man again... QUICKLY!

I hope you excel in whatever you do.