5 minutes freewrite prompt: Tram Conductor

in Freewriters13 days ago

About twenty years ago, I still remember on that rainy day, mom hold my hands so tight, it was raining and she was carrying her goods on her head, the tricycle were all loaded with passengers, because people rush to evacuate the market premises, since the rain was a kind that would rain till the next day.

Image source

Luckily for us, the tram station were close to the market, so she wrapped up all the goods she bought and she hold my hands as we moved to the station.

Getting to the tram station, a gentleman man rush and helped brought down the heavy goods that she carried, I was just a young boy, so i could not help, mom asked him where to bought the ticket and he directed her to enter the next room where she saw few people on a queue, Mom gave him few bucks but he told her that, their duty isn't involved taking money from commuter's.

She asked me to wait for her, and I stood there closer to the goods, not up to thirteen minutes, she came out along with two other women, we were lucky to have meet up the tram which was just about to moved.

A tram conductor came and hijack the goods and place it on the back of the tram, he inform mom about an extra charges for her luggage, she paid and I didn't know how much it was.

After mom's goods was loaded, a certain tram conductor, the one that was inside the tram show us where to seat.

I was somehow terrifying, and I asked mom, "if we are going home with this big motor", she said, yes", but by the time it moved, I was enjoying the tram, it balance so much and I didn't feel anything, I remember popping out my face on the window and feeling the air.

Although mom didn't allow me to do it for long, my experience in the tram as a child was admirable, and I learnt that, tram conductors are nice people.