๐Ÿ“œ Lola's Story | *BRAND NEW CONTINUATION* | Part 47~ Prompt: mystified ๐Ÿ“œ

in Freewriters โ€ข 4 years ago


Mark paced the small hospital room, running his fingers through his hair, then his beard, then resigned to leaning against the window a deep scowl on his face. Lola stared at him with an amused smile. Finally he looked at her.

โ€œYou'll have to move in with me.โ€

โ€œI'm sorry, what?โ€ she asked, mystified at his conclusion.

โ€œIt's the only solution I can think of.โ€

โ€œI'm not moving in with you,โ€ she said.

He sighed. โ€œBut I'm sure you understand what kind of position you're in with him living so close. Stopping by whenever he chooses. Listening in to conversations.โ€

โ€œWell it turns out, my life isn't as private as I thought it was. And even if I did move, what's to say I would be any safer. He would find me. At least at this rate I still have my family around and you,but if I go, I would be alone at your house for hours. It actually makes me less safe. Besides, we just need to figure out what Kyle's been trying to tell us, and all of this will make sense. We'll crack the big case, and be done.โ€

โ€œYou think it's that easy?โ€

Lola paused. โ€œIt needs to be that easy. It has to be that easy.โ€ She shook her head then looked down at her growing belly. โ€œI have to put all of this into perspective or I'll lose the only piece of Kyle that is still alive.โ€

Mark walked back to the bed and sat on the edge, looking at his shoes. After a moment he reached for her hand, intertwining his fingers in hers. โ€œDid you know how I met Kyle?โ€ She shook her head. โ€œIt was right after my Dad died. I was at a bar, completely wasted, it was the first time I had ever drank like that and I was hitting on the girl he was with. The things that actually came out of my mouth,โ€ he said laughing, โ€œI can't even imagine saying them out loud again. Well, Kyle had about enough of me and punched me right in the jaw. I went down like a sack of potatoes. Then I started crying, ugly crying about my dad, about how my mom had left when I was a kid. Right there in the fetal position. Anyway, he helped me back up and bought me a cup of coffee and got me home okay. We were friends ever since. Eventually he became the family I needed.โ€ He looked at her now, in the eyes. โ€œWe're going to take the key to the lockbox as soon as you're ready, and we're going to figure this out and finally lay everything to rest.โ€


Thank you so much for sharing this with me! If you are just now reading or catching up, all the chapters below are built using the daily freewrite prompts that began this story 2 years ago, now containing new bonus material. It's time now to finish the story! Just like it was started before, I'm writing new parts with the daily freewrite prompts! For more info about freewrites, visit @mariannewest!

If you would like to check out the story from the beginning you can find the previous chapters here!

Chapters
1 |2|3|4|5
|6| 7 |8|9| 10| 11 | 12|13|14|15
NEW PARTS
46

To the amazing people that read this story! Thank you!
@cecicastor, @scribblingramma, @enginewitty, @janaveda, and @sirmartinet

Much love,
Stacie D

flower page break.png




hi

Sort: ย 

That was a unique way for two people to become friends!

I'm sorry I never responded! Haha I thought it was a fun way! lol