freewritehouse cross-posted this post in Freewriters 4 years ago


"Do you like my hat" a fiction (a felt.buzz freewrite+)

in #freewrite4 years ago

This is @mariannewest’s prompt

Do You Like My Hat?

Screenshot 20200926 at 15.55.41.png

"Do you like my new hat?" she said and gestured to the top of her head where a thing that looked as though it had been half eaten by a dog and then vomited back up sat.

"Erm," I began hoping she would fill the awkward gap with words to disguise the fact that I hadn't answered.

"I bought it in that new shop," she obliged. "You know the one next to the coffee shop with the buns you like."

That didn't really narrow it down for me. I liked all buns and all the bakers in town were excellent.

"Opposite the Crown."

Ah, now I knew the bakers. Sometimes I would nip over the road, in between pints, and grab a bun to soak up the booze. But I couldn't picture a new shop.

"It's called Hats The Way To Do It," she said. "The new hat shop," she added, just in case for some reason I thought the bakers had renamed itself with a rediculous hat-based pun for no reason in particular. “It has a wide range of hats,” she continued. “Perhaps you’d like one.”

“I don’t think so,” I said. “I don’t really do hats.”

“This one,” she said, fingering the revolting pile of canine puke on the top of her head. “Was made by an artist.”

“Was he drunk?” I asked, the words slipping out of my mouth before my brain could grab hold of them.

“Drunk?” she said, frowning. “No, I don’t think so. Why?” Her eyes narrowed. “Don’t you like it?”

“It’s…” I searched for a word that wasn’t disgusting, repulsive or ugly. “... interesting.”
She smiled and nodded.

“That’s what I thought. A talking point.”

“Was it expensive?” I took a sip of beer.

“Oh no,” she said, her smile widening. “I got it for a price! I really bargain. It was only five hundred pounds.”

The beer sprayed from my mouth showering her and her head based monstrosity.


Join the #Freewriters #WritingCommunity on #HIVE!

Daily Freewrite Prompts by @mariannewest

Curation of your #freewrite posts

Contests and challenges

A non-judgemental and supportive #WritingCommunity on the #HIVE blockchain!

Find us on PeakD https://peakd.com/c/hive-161155/created
or
Hive.Blog https://hive.blog/created/hive-161155

Follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/freewritehouse

Be creative! Be whatever you want to be. #BeHIVE!

...

Join the Powerhousecreatives

A community dedicated to producing quality content in multiple genres, offering our subscribers a read worthy feed.