You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 5-minute Freewrite by @myjob

in Freewriters3 years ago

At what point do you just look for a new(er) motor? I don't even know what the market is like or what prices are. I'd nick my dad's old Johnson and ship it out, but it also has issues, what with being over 60 years old and a mere 5.5 horse.

Sort:  

Thank you for the thought of shipping your dad's old motor but no thanks. with the way fishing is going, I can not see where I could possibly make the money back from buying a new motor, I think they are 4 to 5 grand maybe more, and if I bought a used one, I would be buying someone else's problems. I feel that fixing this one would be the cheapest way to go unless it has a cracked block. Then I will be stuck fishing in the same boat as my husband, two captains in one boat does not go over very well. He does not want to try places that I would try and one of us gets upset.