The college, The Teachers & The Students

in Freewriters2 years ago

Some things just didn't settle down with me and now more than ever, I'm curious for answers. I can't tell yet if this is a practice domiciled in this part of the world, perhaps i will get an insight about it now.
image.png
Credits
I am not sure if we have been going to college and university just to come out of it with a predetermined class of degree or we are supposed to evolve and reach for the stars, but i am sure our parents have definitely sent us out to go for treasure hunt as far as we can go. That brings me to my question here today; What are the joy of lecturers seeing their student graduate with lower class of degrees than them self.?


I can only imagine the joy every parents feel when they see their kids learning new things, right from their infant stage.
image.png
Credits
These moments are priceless, sometimes we caught them on camera because we always want a piece of that feeling when we look back to watch them. Parents wants to see how their kids did their first step, how their kids wrote their first alphabet, how they pronounce their first words, how they did their first drawing and more.

The happiness that comes with seeing younger ones breaking limits can never be over emphasized, and all parents always desire for their offspring to reach heights they couldn't. I mean, that's what an average parents should want for their children, right? But that is not something that can be achieved if these children stay at home which makes education a necessity. All parents having a mutual understanding that the school share the same goal as them, to see their kids grow through their several academic adventures in place.

I have also witnessed the same enthusiasm surrounding teachers/lecturers too. Every teacher wants to see to it that the younger ones under their watch can stand tall, or even, taller than them the teachers.

Seeing that knowledge is passed to the younger ones is a thing of passion for me, during my undergraduate days, i volunteered to be the class tutor, there is beauty in impacting knowledge on others. Some of my encounter with my fellow students made me understand that, you may be the captain of the ship today, but some of the crew members will know how to sail better than you.

I usually identify those people whom i see are quite better than me in certain aspects and acqiut myself with them, one can say it was easy because i was a fellow students but it was better than drawing a battle line between my self and those who know than myself.

It is not always the same thing with the lecturer, they take it to be an identified threat and a battle line is drawn student proves to be smarter than they are, and i can't understand why this has to be the case. I had always thought the goal was to produce students of higher standards, my thoughts has been twisted a little now.
Being subject to those who only wish to smile with students that are dumb and always using the same old rules and fights with those who thinks of better ways of improving their life, i can't help but ask the question again "what are the joy of teachers seeing their students are less better than them?"

Educational ground should be a place where every participants comes with open mind to share ideas, inspire creativity, and press for progress. Where old methods that have become obsolete be scrapped and seek for more conventional ways.
image.png
Credits
A place that's always after development and not maintaining a status quo that's doesn't have windows for improvement.

I can't outrightly label my self a victim, but the experience shared from my friend yesterday night was not a juicy one. I think it to be more of honor to breed students who can unlock doors that you couldn't, there's a feeling of fulfillment in that. Sadly, some teachers hoard knowledge, and only trades it for petty benefits, my friend was denied his class of degree by the department because he to have gotten to a heights beating the records the department has ever witnessed and was subjected to several unorthodox test, not to verify of he is worth the grade he have,but to look for loopholes to bring the grade down.
This action of theirs is a dent on the goal of educational institution which has made me write this today.

Should teachers be against their students when the students are better than them? I think not in my own opinion.

Sort:  

I agree with you. I think that school is the most important for every human. You learn subjects , how to answer the questions, how to act. You meet your future friends there. I always loved school but not too much . i've learnt a lot from school.
In my country schools are different from other countries' schools. We don't wear uniforms. i think it is not good. School would be more attractive if children had uniforms.
I have a lot good memories about school. We had picnics . (we spent very good time) alsoo we had fun with our teachers. some of them were very kind but some of them not so much.
I really don"t miss school very much. beacuse i had not good classmates. But sometimes i want to sit with them and listen to our favorite teacher.
Finally i want to say that school is important. During this period you learn a lot. You Get information about everything. You meet friends . began to think about your future life. School helps you to be a good and educated person.
up

The importance of school can never be ruled out, it's a necessity.

In my country schools are different from other countries' schools. We don't wear uniforms. i think it is not good. School would be more attractive if children had uniforms.

Uniform would contribute in bringing harmony among students and making the school ground a fair place for everyone but it's also fun where there's not. There plus and minus for both policies anyway.

I'm sorry about not having good class mates , you sure must have miss some fun part as well.