You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: medicine man

in Freewriters4 years ago

Oh Ms. @carolkean, you are really something else, you know that? I love your energy and wit and creativity and F--- it all attitude. That will probably do more for you health and well-being than chasing flighty doctors all over heck and yon. I'm really sorry that happened, by the way. It really makes no sense. What risk was there in him going ahead and meeting with you to see if he could help solve your mystery? Too macho, maybe? Afraid he would fail? Hang in there, my dear. For the most bizarre and difficult to treat conditions, I do think natural medicine is a safer bet!

Sort:  

Thank you Jayna!!!
The older women get, the more we learn to embrace the idea that one only has so many F^cks to give (there's a book with that title, and I never remember it offhand). Crabby old ladies learn that doctors waste our time and money, and old home remedies (natural medicine) can be safer than those pills and procedures the medical industry imposes on us (and on senior citizens in particular). Today, something crazier than the doctor happened. It concerns my sister's cold case, and the other local girls killed and discarded like roadside trash, and I'm feeling like someone has me under surveillance and leaks information to whoever. It's weird. I always fight conspiracy theory paranoia and trust that all is well, and all shall be well. But it all is not well, or, "Something is rotten in the State of Denmark," and I am going to bed now to sleep of this crazy day, this mind-blowing week. I wanna go home. I'm still four hours away and husband is still manning the fort with two dogs and a wicked cat (Bobi the Bad), no power, no shower, no WiFi, no phone. THE WORLD HAS GONE MAD. But I also just read new stories on female genital mutilation and how only 39 of our 50 states have banned it. And other people have suffered horribly with COVID, and the derecho, and human trafficking, and....
Good night everyone.
Thanks again, Jayna and Marianne, for your comments today!

Oh my gosh, my hair just lit on fire! You do have plenty of fodder for a gothic novel, don’t you? Well, do take care of yourself. You’ve got me worried!

And when you think of the F***s book send me the title. ❤️

Book Summary: The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F^ck by Mark Manson

  • You are going to die someday. Everyone you know is going to die soon. And in your short life you only have a certain amount of fucks to give.
  • Subtlety #1: Not giving a f^ck is not about being indifferent. It just means you’re comfortable with being different. Don’t say f^ck it to everything in life, just to the unimportant things.
  • Don't hope for a life without problems. Hope for a life with good problems.
    Problems never stop. They merely get exchanged or upgraded.
    Happiness is found in solving problems, not avoiding them.
    True happiness occurs only when you find the problems you enjoy having and enjoy solving. Happiness is wanting the problems you have and wanting to solve them.