#Freewrite - Day 1193: A Vision of Coals

in Freewriters3 years ago (edited)


Source

Please see this post for @mariannewest's daily prompt, Hot Coals.


Something drew me out there.

An ephemeral whisper, a phantom from beyond my senses goaded and beckoned to me.

I was powerless against its ethereal seduction; to the promise of something wonderful and incorporeal. Images flashed at the forefront of my mind of hot coals and darkness. A burning path stretching into the unknown and unknowable.

A recognition of something incomprehensible came over me. A trigger that activated something deep and primal. A chain reaction, a domino effect like a reactor at the beginning of a melt down.

At first I thought it an echo of a dream or a memory but that wasn't it.

My body felt heavy, my skin clammy and cold.

My bed bore the sweaty imprint of my unconscious silhouette, yet I had no fever. I felt no sickness. In fact, I felt invigorated and energized. Suddenly and impossibly, an eruption of energy surged through me. My skin and muscles were ablaze with sensation, twitching in a rhythmic spasm. With clenched fists my mind and body unified under the immensity enveloping me. I felt strong and indomitable. It burned the fog from my mind and focused it like a blade's edge.

Then the whisper came once again.

"Come to me."

A voice as cold and ungraspable as liquified gas.

Lilac settled in my olfactory and I tasted cold steel.

Hopelessly entranced I turned to the door, its handle ice cold.

I turned and pulled it open and revealed a dark abyss. An empty void of total blackness occupied the space where my home once was. Its umbra infinite and pure and beckoning. I felt no fear, no confusion. My eyes fixed on a point somewhere beyond, my resolve true.

Then I felt them, the coals.

Before me the burning path stretched and stretched, snaking and weaving its way into the darkness. Geothermic heat radiated a blistering red and fire licked my bare skin - yet it did no hurt upon me.

With a resolve I had never felt I took my firs step - my senses keen.

The life I had known was gone, perhaps the very world itself.

All there was, was the voice, the darkness and the path.

My true journey begins.


Hope you enjoyed and thank you for reading.
I might expand on this at some point if I feel like it.

Like normal I can never stick to the 5 minutes, I hope that's not annoying for anyone.

~ Simon Tonkin ~

Sort:  

Hi johneyreacko,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thanks Curie, you're awesome

Congratulations @johneyreacko! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 7000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP