#Weekend #Freewrite - Single Prompt Option: 'Wheel Her In'

in Freewriters4 years ago (edited)

reeel.png

Hello #Freewriters I hope you're all having a lovely weekend.

I got some pretty bad news tonight and I'm looking to lose myself in some micro-fiction. I made an entry into this week's ZapFic competition and for once I think I made a decent entry.

The prompt for this week is: 'Civilian' and you can check out my entry Here if you like.


Weekend Freewrite - Single Prompt Option

Brought to you by @mariannewest

Check out the challenge page Here


Wheel Her In


Galvin's palms itched as the urge to take manual control grew.

Last week's debacle with the mooring protocols had given him a taste of what it's like to be consequential. For twenty minutes he felt truly important; something he'd rarely felt ever.

The hum-drum of regular life was pushing that sweet memory further and further out of view, and he feared that if he didn't stoke the fire it would disappear. Galvin swallowed his doubts and initiated an incredibly illegal, unscheduled maintenance diagnostic on the same set of docking protocols. They were certain to find out his crime during the audits were, but he didn't care.

"Looks like the docking procedures are messing up again, captain. Permission to wheel her in?"

"Granted."

Galvin would know that feeling again, even if it cost him everything.


Thank you for reading.

I hope you're all having an amazing weekend and staying safe.

Take care, Simon.

peakd.png

I delegate to and recommend:

@freewritehouse

@curie

@actifit

@pommom

@thesocalhive

Sort:  

Hey @johneyreacko, here is a little bit of BEER from @pommom for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.