The banjo man

in Freewriters2 years ago

He was tired of always being told how clever he was. He wanted to be good looking, popular among women. Winning that Nobel prize had been fun, but now it seemed boring. Boring as fuck. He wanted to be Brad Pitt, looked a bit like him actually! He was in good shape and ate a lot of broccoli. He had tailored suits, and speedo bathing trunks.

But all they cared about were astro physics.


She was tired of always being told how clever she was - how her results in bio-chemistry meant so much to mankind. She wanted people to see those splendid boobs, and her long legs! It was nice of course to be the reason so many people could live better lives, but she honestly didn't care much for that Nobel prize. Boring! She wanted to be treated like a sex object. She had a nice face, she looked the part.

But all they cared about were primary protein structures.


He was tired of always being told that he smelled of piss. He'd rather people would focus on his skills on a banjo.



Sort:  

I can't get enough of that banjo tune. I love his iterations of the different sections, all five of them. Swingy, sassy, and celebratory through and through. It's a good to be alive kind of music. Much needed, now that WWIII has begun.

Love your intro to the tune too. Deep down, all any of us really wants is to be loved. And for many of us, that means especially for our bodies. Haha I like imagining those scientists just wanting to get laid.

As for the piss smell, I'd rather imagine that banjo player smelling like rose of attar. He sure could play!

This post kept me occupied for nearly half an hour! My kind of post.

Half an hour was about what it took me to write it. Strange symmetry.

I started with the title as I was listening to old records. But then it just went south with those privileged scientists. It was always fascinating to me how being unsatisfied is a constant in human life. My imagination often takes me to the iron age or the thirty years war or Aleppo at its worst and I then can't help feeling pretty good about my own life. But I seldom meet the same sentiment in others. Trying to comfort people by saying it was much worse in 1944 when they complain about the fact that they have to sell one of their cars, that their tits are getting saggy and their hair is getting thinner or that their couple's counselling not is going the way they expected, is never really appreciated.

So I am on the side of that humble banjo man even though he forget to wash his underwear.

If 1944 fails to impress I often try the St. Bartholomew's Day massacre, the great depression or German schlager music from the 80's

No! Not his underwear!

We do not always get to choose what we are appreciated for.

That's a choice banjo recording. Amazing to hear someone from over 100 years ago.

We do not always get to choose what we are appreciated for.

No, that is true :)

Somehow old recordings hold a strange magic. It is like another language remote not in syntax, but in time.

There are recordings of people who we might not expect, e.g. Florence Nightingale.

Somehow I am not at all surprised that she sounded like that. It is fascinating.

When you are an educated person, this is reflected in your behavior greatly and your appearance as well

Yes, very true.

Sometimes prizes are a source of confusion for a person over the course of the future. Everyone has their own special things. We just love those who match us.

Yes, that is probably true. There is a Dane who just won the Nobel prize in chemistry and said in the newspaper that it would probably change everything he would be doing the rest of his life. I guess it was him I thought of when writing this.

Few people care about the moral aspect and appreciating people according to their level of culture. Almost everyone became materialistic.

Wow amazing write up ✍️✍️✍️