Shadowed Promises [Fiction]

in Freewriters2 months ago

IMG_20240221_175527.jpgdivider curl .webp

“Kneel for your king!” Yelled the chief royal guard clad in heavy bronze armour, the kingdom's seal imprinted boldly on the chest. His piercing gaze would make the strongest man cower in fear but I tipped my chin high and slowly let my lips curve into a smirk. My aunt quickly fell to her knees, the puff of breaths from her nose chasing specks of dust away from her face.

How dare Calah sit majestically on his throne seat, his handsome face a mask of calm and pride, while his toothless dog disrespects me? Not after last night. Not after the impassioned promises made in my bed.

The glint of a sword flashed before I felt the cold steel against my neck. My smirk did not falter, nor did my disdain. My aunt's whimpers almost made me change my stance but I gritted my teeth. “I'll kneel to no one,” I said, letting my eyes stray to the king.

“How dare you?” The chief royal guard raised a fist, possibly to strike my face when Calah jumped to his feet. “Stand down!”

The resounding command echoed in the palace, sucking away the silence as murmurs of courtiers filled the air. The guard gasped in shock, turning to gaze at his king. I sighed quietly in relief and my aunt stopped whimpering.

“My king?”

“I said, stand down. Let them go,” Calah said, his beautiful blue eyes resting on my face. I narrowed my eyes at him, letting him know that his action was unforgivable. No one disrespects Athena, the daughter of Mirnaa Swetha. I might not be the famed mythological goddess but Calah should know better than to test me.

I leaned down, grabbed my aunt's arm and pulled her up gently. Her face was wet with tears. “Let's go,” I whispered and we walked out of the palace.

* * * * * *

“Talk with him first before you do anything rash,” Auntie Isi suggested, trying to calm me down.

“Calah betrayed me, Auntie. How can I overlook that? He knows our hands are clean but listened to that thickheaded guard of his.”

“See? You admit it's the guard's fault.”

“Must he believe everything he's told? So things fall apart in this kingdom and the poor people are to be blamed? Haven't we suffered enough?” Auntie Isi's look of shock made me realise my voice was loud and accusatory. I shook my head. “I'm sorry….”

Knock. Knock.

Auntie Isi and I exchanged glances. It was almost midnight—the perfect time for Calah to visit me. I quickly dropped the effigy in my hand inside a cracked vase on a table.

The knock came again. “Athena…please let me in.” It was Calah, the king of Nyxelm, my lover. Auntie gave me a knowing look, a glance at the vase with a vigorous shake of her head, before disappearing into her room and locking the door.

I opened the door and stared him down. His handsome face was partially hidden in a black cloak but his blue eyes were solemn. “Athena.”

I let him in and closed the door. He shrugged off the cloak and went on his knees, gripping my hands tight in his. “I beg your forgiveness. I was told the protesters who destroyed the properties and tried to force their way into the treasure room had been caught. Not until I saw you before I realised it was Jesher's ploy to take you out of my life since the council will not listen to his lies. He's in the dungeon now awaiting my judgment.”

“You and I, do we have any hope? Will Nyxelm accept me as their queen?” My voice quivered but in my heart, I was done waiting. “You should go, Calah. Make a royal alliance with other kingdoms. I can't continue doing this.”

“Never!” He stood abruptly, his face contorted into a dark scowl. “I'll make things right. Keep my cloak as a token of my promise.”

I watched the king walk away into the cold night, his face unhidden. A great change was coming to Nyxelm and I must be ready.

divider curl .webp

I hope you enjoyed reading this short story inspired by the Freewrite #dailyprompt phrase “kneel for the king”.

Thank you for visiting my blog.

Image credit: Kellepics

Sort:  

This write is amazing and very detailed that I wanted more😅 well done👍🏽

😄 A glowing remark! Thanks so much for reading. I'm glad you enjoyed it. !LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@kemmyb, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @whitneyalexx and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (3/4 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

The pleasure is mine.🤩

A very captivating story, your narration drew me in. I didn't want the story to end,what happens next between Athena and King Calah? I'm curious😀

What happens next between Athena and King Calah?

Most likely they end up together! Hehe. I'm glad you found this story captivating. Thanks so much for reading.
!PIZZA

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@kemmyb(1/5) tipped @loveth97