The Therapist | El Terapeuta. Segunda sesión (1ra parte) [Eng/Esp]

in Freewriters2 years ago (edited)


Fuente Imagen

 


When we are no longer able to change a situation, we face the challenge of changing ourselves.

 
Victor Frankl



TEXT IN ENGLISH


On the day of the consultation, Carlos arrived well in advance and sat in the small reception area of the office. As he waited, he reflected on the ironies of life. Once he had been afraid to seek help and now he was extremely anxious for the session to begin.

The therapist arrived a few minutes after the appointed time. Carlos saw him and looked at his watch and smiled. He also smiled, said good morning and extended his hand inviting him into his office. They sat down and there was a moment of silence until he looked at Carlos and said to him:

I would like you to talk to me today about your life and the reasons that led you to come here for help. I am very interested in you mentioning your inner dialogues, what you say or have said to yourself most often, your mental chatter, I am all ears.

Carlos felt confident towards the therapist, but it took him a while to respond. He looked down for a while and then slowly said:

- For as long as I can remember, there are two feelings that have accompanied me throughout my life: fear and guilt. The first characterized my childhood and adolescence, the second my adulthood. I believe that my internal dialogues have always had to do with these two feelings.

The therapist nodded and asked him to continue.

- I have a lot of pictures of her as a child in a family album, where the one thing that stands out about her is how fearful she was. It's funny, I don't remember that feeling of fear, but it was evident that I felt it, my face gave me away, I looked at the camera as one looks at the unknown and dangerous, in some I even have tears in my eyes.

He paused and continued:

- I don't remember my childhood as that of a child with trauma or a victim of abuse or continuous mistreatment. Although I remember several events that marked me and I have never forgotten: One was a scolding from my mother because I touched her breasts and wanted to grab them with my mouth like a baby. That happened when I was about six or seven years old. The other was around that age or a little younger: it was a walk through a crowded seaside resort, hand in hand with my dad, who took me to wash myself, naked and full of excrement from the waist down, while I watched people making fun of me. Strangely enough, I still feel that shame when I remember that event.

The therapist intervened to add:

- Parents are often unintentionally the cause of most of our children's traumas. The worst thing is that some do not even know it, nor recognize it. By the way, do you have children?

Yes, I have two children whom I love very much. However, I believe that they also paid the price for my emotional immaturity. Going back to my dialogues, already in my adolescence fear was giving ground, but only for another negative emotion to enter, feeling guilty for all the bad things that have happened to me, for my failures, for my feeling of abandonment and inadequacy. I have wasted my time being a victim of life, who blames himself, not out of conscience but out of cowardice and drama, the truth is that I have many open wounds.

His interlocutor looked at him smiling and hurried to comment:

- It is clear that you have read and surely seen many videos on these topics related to self-esteem and personal growth. To tell the truth, that is not bad as such, there are very prepared people in that field, but do not believe everything you see and hear. There are many who just give cheap tips and talk for the sake of talking, giving talks here and there; in other words, they are charlatans who do not practice what they profess.

To be continued...



TEXTO EN ESPAÑOL


El día de la consulta, Carlos llegó con bastante antelación y se sentó en la pequeña recepción del consultorio. Mientras esperaba, reflexionaba sobre las ironías de la vida. Hace un tiempo atrás tenía miedo a buscar ayuda y ahora estaba sumamente ansioso porque comenzara la sesión

El terapeuta llegó unos minutos después de la hora señalada. Carlos al verlo miro su reloj y sonrió. Él también sonrió dio los buenos días y le extendió la mano invitándolo a pasar a su oficina.

Hubo un momento de silencio y mirando a Carlos le dijo:

- Quisiera que hoy me hablaras de tú vida y las razones que te llevaron a venir aquí por ayuda. Me interesa sobremanera que menciones tus diálogos internos, eso que te dices o te has dicho a ti mismo con más frecuencia, tu parloteo mental. Soy todo oídos.

Carlos sentía confianza hacia el terapeuta, sin embargo tardó un poco en responder. Estuvo un rato con la mirada baja y después pausadamente dijo:

- Desde que recuerdo, hay dos sentimientos que me han acompañado durante toda mi vida: el miedo y la culpa. El primero caracterizó mi niñez y adolescencia, el segundo mi adultez. Creo que mis diálogos internos siempre han tenido que ver con esos dos sentimientos.

El terapeuta asintió y le pidió que continuara.

- Tengo muchas fotos de pequeño en un álbum familiar, donde lo que resalta de ella es lo temeroso que estaba. Es curioso, yo no recuerdo esa sensación de miedo, pero era evidente que la sentía, mi rostro me delataba, miraba la cámara como se mira lo desconocido y peligroso, en algunas tengo hasta lágrimas en los ojos.

Hizo una pausa y continuó:

- No recuerdo mi infancia como la de un niño con traumas o víctima de abusos ni maltratos continuos. Aunque recuerdo varios hechos que me marcaron y nunca he olvidado: uno fue un regaño de mi mamá porque le toque los senos y los quise agarrar con mi boca como un bebe. Eso ocurrió como a los seis o siete años. El otro fue aproximadamente a esa edad o un poco menos: fue una caminata por un balneario atestado de gente, de la mano de mi papá, que me llevaba a lavarme, desnudo lleno de excrementos de la cintura para bajo, mientras veía como la gente se burlaba de mí. Por extraño que parezca esa vergüenza todavía la siento cuando recuerdo ese hecho.

El terapeuta intervino para decir:

- Los padres somos muchas veces sin pretenderlo, los causantes de la mayoría de los traumas de nuestros hijos. Lo peor es que algunos ni lo saben, ni lo reconocen. ¿Por cierto tienes hijos?

- Si tengo dos hijos a los que amo mucho. Sin embargo, creo que ellos también pagaron los platos rotos de mi inmadurez emocional. Volviendo a lo de mis diálogos internos, ya en mi adolescencia el miedo fue cediendo terreno, pero solo para que entrara otra emoción negativa: el sentirme culpable por todas las cosas malas que me han sucedido, por mis fracasos, por mi sensación de abandono e insuficiencia. He perdido mi tiempo siendo una víctima de la vida, que se culpa así mismo, no por conciencia sino por cobardía y drama, lo cierto es que tengo muchas heridas abiertas.

Su interlocutor lo miro sonriendo y se apresuró a comentar:

- Se nota que has leído y de seguro visto, muchos vídeos sobre esos temas relacionado con el autoestima y el crecimiento personal. A decir verdad, eso no es malo como tal, hay gente muy preparada en ese campo, pero no creas todo lo que ves y oyes. Hay muchos que lo que hacen es dar tips baratos y hablar por hablar, dando charlas por aquí y por allá; o sea que son unos charlatanes que no practican lo que profesan.

Continuará…


Translated with www.DeepL.com


¡Gracias por leer y apoyar!

 

¡¡¡Recuerda visitar Freewrite House!!!

FreewriteHouse.jpg

Sort:  

Here is your Proof of Brian. I think you meant #ProofOfBrain
Brian
Source

Greetings, sorry but the story does not refer to anyone in particular.

It was about the tag you got wrong :)

Thank you for the clarification.

Most parents are the causes of their children trauma,most of them might not know unless they are enlightened about it...this is an insightful post, hoping to read the remaining part.

Thank you for your reading and comment, I hope the muses will help me to write the next ones. A virtual hug.

Congratulations @leninbracho50! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 10000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 15
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!