You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: medicine man

in Freewriters4 years ago

I don't feel ignored on Facebook because I never go there lol
Please, please, please, never shut up!!
Be you!!
And we all go on being us - because that is all we can do!!
Poor yourself out here - or wherever you feel like it.
And the storms suck, Corona sucks, and world politics suck.
Personally, I don't mind wearing a mask and don't really understand why people are all in arms about it. Most everyone I know wears pants/skirt and a shirt. Businesses can ask for shoes being worn in their establishment. It is just something to wear... we are the ones that are making it a symbol - or not...

Sort:  

Thank you Marianne!!
Tonight, the mask was especially hard to wear. High heat and humidity. There's a Migraine group on Facebook and a lot of vestibular-challenged people get headaches or get short of breath or dizzy not long after putting on a mask, so it's a thing, not a manufactured idea... I'm not at all confident the masks help if the virus is in the air, ready to infect someone. But what do I know. I wear the mask, but I grumble a lot!

Sounds like you might need a better fitted one. There is definitely science behind that the mask do help - hence doctors and dentists and others have been wearing them for a long time.
I have experimented with different kinds now and there are some I can't stand at all - and now I have some I have done long walks in pretty high heat in and they have been fine. The cut allows the fabric to be away from my nose and breathing is easy - but it still sits firm on my face and doesn't allow anything out...
And they are not fastened to my ears - that can put a lot of pressure on the face as well...
You sew, right? Just try all kinds of patterns until you find one that works for you...

Aha. Yes, I've seen a pattern for a cotton mask that doesn't fasten to the ears. Hand-tied is supposed to better. My neighbor sewed the mask I wear and donates masks to the hospital, made from the same pattern. I've tried two fabric masks from stores. All fasten to the ears. All of them are miserable. My glasses steam over. I'll keep looking for one that works. Thanks Marianne. (And I used to sew but I don't have a machine that works anymore.)

I will ask my daughter in law for her pattern. I made some that were basically rectangles, then 3 pleads folded. I sewed shoestrings in the corners to tie them and did a little pocket on top to insert pipe cleaners that can be formed to the nose and keep the mask tight. That way, your glasses sit over the mask and won't fog up.
There is also some spray you can put on glasses that keeps them from fogging up - my son uses that at work since they wear safety goggles all day long.
I find with the mask my daughter in law made me, if I put it high enough and my glasses are over the fabric, I am doing fine.
I walked/ran 5 miles with the mask on in pretty hot weather and was good...
It really is in the design and there are a lot of bad ones out there right now...