Day 1094: 5 Minute Freewrite: Monday - Prompt: chainsaw

This is going to be messy as I started to hack through his limbs with the chainsaw.

I didn't intend it to happen now when I have been watching his habits for an entire week!

"Stupid, stupid, stupid!" I mutter to myself.

I got careless as the anticipation of the deed was building. I was savoring the perfect crime and how it would leave people wondering more than who did it to how did someone do it.

Plan after meticulous plan was all for naught as I literally slipped and caught his attention. From then it must have imprinted in his mind because when he unintentionally saw me again he ran!

kumakum1s3hzEewQqkunsplash.jpg

Photo by Kuma Kum on Unsplash

He was fast as he ducked into a sidestreet, upturned some garbage and almost fell twice. I was not fast but I am persistent as the gap between us diminished.

Third times a charm as he fell and twisted his ankle. I pounced him with glee and plunged my knife in his heart.

I could see the absolute terror in his eyes as the life slowly drained away.

I carry his lifeless body to my car and to the safehouse that I have barely prepared.

It was not supposed to be tonight but it would do.

So here I am chainsaw in hand and thinking how this is going to be messy.