The Power of Medium's Boost — March Earnings Report

My highest earning month on Medium so far

Image by the author

What is Medium?

It's a platform for writers. And the main platform I use for my writing. And today I am going to share my March earnings with you.

Medium.com is a platform where writers can share their ideas and stories with millions of readers around the world. Writers can also earn money for their content through the Partner Program, which has two ways of generating revenue:

  • Member reading time: Writers are paid monthly based on how much time Medium members spend reading their stories. The longer members read, the more writers earn.
  • Referred memberships: Writers can also earn from referred memberships. For every new reader that they convert to a paying Medium member, they receive half of that new reader’s membership fee, net of standard payment processor fees, for as long as the reader’s membership plan remains active.

Have you heard of the new Boost feature by Medium? Well, one of my stories got boosted by Medium this month. And today I am going to tell you how it impacted my earnings.

A short Recap

I’ve been writing on Medium for a little bit over a year. And ever since last September, I have earned over 100$ a month from the Medium partner program.

I usually publish anywhere from 5 to 20 articles a month.

During the month of March, I published a total of 8 articles on Medium. And one of these articles got boosted by Medium.

How much did I earn? You are about to find out!

Medium's Boost

At the end of February Medium announced a new Boost feature for top stories on Medium. If your story is good and gets noticed by Medium's staff or community curators, it might get chosen for the boost. If this is the case your story will be shown to a larger audience than usual.

You will also receive an e-mail informing you that your story has been boosted. And you will be able to see it in the story's stats.

screenshot by the author

You can learn more about the boost feature by reading this article from Medium's CEO Tony Stubblebine:

A new Boost for top stories

Let's get back to the earnings.

March Earnings

Records were broken this month. Both in terms of monthly earnings and in how much I earned in one day. My story about Midjourney's v5v model got boosted on March 21, 5 days after it was published.

And on the day it was boosted it made me over 50$:

image by the author

The story was doing relatively well even before the boost. But the boost increased the daily earnings by more than 10x. After the initial boost, the story cooled down a bit. But was still getting a solid 20$ a day for several days.

Let's look at the stats.

Stats

Here you can see my stats for the last 30 days, thanks to the boost I've reached more people than usual:

screenshot by the author

So how much did I earn in March?

My total earnings for the month: $428.23

This is currently my highest earning month on Medium. Below you can see how it compares with the previous months:

screenshot by the author

Hopefully, I will see this uptrend continuing.

Which stories did the best and when were they published?

  1. Midjourney V5 Has Arrived And It’s Really Good

$239.90 earned in March and in total. Published in March 2023.

  1. Tricking ChatGPT: Do Anything Now Prompt Injection

$70.04 earned in March, $144.42 earned in total. Published in February 2023.

  1. ChatGPT API Is Here — What Does This Mean?

$12.86 earned in March and in total. Published in March 2023.

Final words

Seeing your earnings grow feels great. But the hard part is pushing through the times when you don't see the results. Being persistent, learning, improving, and keeping going is key to getting better results.

If you do one thing long enough and improve little by little, you are bound to be successful.

That's it for today.

I mostly write about AI-related topics but from time to time I share some insights from my journey as a writer online. If that's a topic that interests you, here's a list you can check out!

You can find me on Medium as HungryMinded.