Digging a Great Big Hole for Myself (freewrite story)

in Freewriters4 years ago

"I'm just going to dig a hole."

That was it, I have no idea why I wanted to do it. I just wanted to dig a great big hole for myself.

I went to shop to buy a spade. When I returned home, I went to the back garden and started to dig.

grass-455753_1280.jpg

Rewind

Let's go back to the part when I bought the spade.

I was awake at 3 in the morning. All I could think about is digging a deep hole in the back garden. I got dressed and went to the 24 hour supermarket.

The supermarket sells food, coffee and spades, so thankfully, I had everything I needed to create my deep deep hole.

I was the only customer in the store, so I thought. It was so quiet, even the staff were sitting around drinking tea.

They sell mirrors. Very nice mirrors. Not something I usually notice. Maybe it is the occasion. I don't usually shop in the early hours of the morning.

"Why do you wish to build a great big hole?"

Who's asking that question? There's nobody around.

"Why do you wish to build a great big hole?"

There it is again. The same question. I feel I must look within myself and answer.

"I don't know. I can't sleep. I feel like it is necessary to dig a great big hole. But I don't know why. Maybe, if I dig the hole, it will become obvious why I did it."

The voice made another point

"Maybe there is no reason. Maybe you just need the challenge of building a hole."

I don't want to analyse anything. I just want to get on and dig this thing.

The voice made one more remark.

"Do you like these mirrors? I think you should buy one."

The supermarket sells food, coffee, spades and mirrors. The mirror is nice and I'll find somewhere for it.

"Let's get home and dig this hole," I said to myself.

I started to dig.

"Would you like a coffee?"

Who's asking? Is it my neighbour?

"You would like a coffee? You love coffee."

There's nobody around.

"Who are you? Who's asking?" I shouted

That said, I can't believe I made a start without having a coffee. Not my usual thing. Let's brew some.

I sat outside with my coffee, the sun was shining and birds were singing.

"I'm actually getting tired now," I said to myself. "I think I'll go for a sleep. The hole can wait until later."

equipment-2047314_1280.jpg

Thank you for reading

Freewrite prompts by @mariannewest