Not The Wrong Trousers

in Freewriters4 years ago

"I've split my trousers."

This one is really bad. All the way up the leg. Perhaps, maybe, I've put on a little bit of weight.

"You've put on so much weight. Must be all the sugar you are having."

These words aren't going to help me in this situation. I'm at work and I've got the rest of the day to get through.

"It's a hard life being a teacher."

As a teacher, you can't do half a day with split trousers.

Solutions needed.

Home is not too far away. I have a free session next.

If only someone had a spare pair. That would be nice, but nobody really does that.

"You could try the PE department."

That would be handy. There's someone there as tall as me. They may have a spare pair of running trousers.

"You've saved my life."

Luckily, the PE department has just what I need. Even better; I can borrow a pair of tracksuit bottoms without breaking the number one rule.

The number one rule was broken by my father on many occasions. You cannot wear running trousers with a pair of smart shoes. My sister was particularly against this.

"It's so embarrassing. You can't wear tracksuit bottoms with smart shoes. You've got no idea."

Personally, I hate wearing smart shoes. They hurt my feet. I walk to work wearing trainers. Then, when I arrive to work, I change my shoes.

Today, I can wear the tracksuit bottoms with my trainers. I also have a spare sport shirt in the cupboard.

Crisis averted. These days, I always keep a spare sports kit in my cupboard.

Carry on.

2635038_L.jpg

A freewrite exercise, prompt by @mariannewest