The Last Freewrite

in Freewriters4 years ago

"Let's end it now, on 999. No need for a thousand. 1000 is overrated."

5332396_M.jpg

It's like a mysterious broadcast across the whole world.

"Something is being planned for the big 1,000, but you won't be a part of it. I'm not sad about it either. It's how things are. It's how things should be."

The problem for this mysterious voice is this; whilst one person in the world is making a freewrite, hope remains.

Who could be doing this? Who could be trying to banish all hope? Someone twisted? We need to find out.

Time is short. We need to do this in less than 24 hours. We need to make sure that the activities planned for day 1,000 can go ahead as planned.

How do we start? Do we need to hire someone?

"It would help if we knew what we were looking for."

*How long would that take?"

"How long have you got?" asked Detective Inspector Pulp.

"Less than 24 hours," I replied.

"As I was saying, first we need to know what we are looking for. Is it human? Is it a spiritual being? Is it someone who once wrote for you but got turned to evil?"

"I would like to think it was human," I said. "I'm sure we need to explore that avenue. Searching for some spiritual being might take too long. Also, I'm not buying it."

"Are you sure?" asked Pulp. "I could send a load of officers to explore this. Why couldn't it be?"

Something crosses my mind.

"Is it possible that there really is no threat to the freewrite? Is it possible that someone is just putting something out there?"

"Why would they do that?" asked Pulp.

*Perhaps they just want a giggle," I said.

"I can't say that I agree with you," said Pulp

"I wonder why?" I replied. "Your services are no longer required, but thank you anyway. It was an enlightening experience."

…...and with that, Pulp vanished, as in properly vanished.

See you tomorrow. There's no need to dial 999.

5402015_M.jpg
Pictures from Pixabay

Thank you for reading the 999 freewrite, prompt by @mariannewest.

If there is one thing I've learned, it is often the prompts that don't immediately produce an idea that often turn out to be the best ones. Just write.

I'm also looking to make a video. Here's one originally recorded in 2018. I recently added titles and background music to some of them.

Thank you for reading

Sort:  

whilst one person in the world is making a freewrite, hope remains.

I love that line!!!! Of course, I would :)

Another very fun freewrite from you. Love them!!!

I was just getting myself ready for freewrite 1,000. Thank you for the fun.

If you remember, Pulp was the dodgy detective in that long story I wrote.

Nice #freewrite kept me enthralled :)

.....that's good. Thank you for your comment.

Great post, very original, I couldn't stop reading. I, like @mariannewest, loved the line "whilst one person in the world is making a freewrite, hope remains." I loved it because I hadn't heard "whilst in a very long time. Thank you.

Thank you for reading. Nice words.

Thank you for reading. Nice words.

Yes, I came to talk you out of it before I dialled 999
Phew!! Both not necessary and I enjoyed the freewrite too
Win-win-Win :D

I always (nearly) do happy endings

Thank you for reading

Wow that was great @mr-neil, kept the excitement to the last line, and detective Pulp was vanished, it's awesome.



Made in Canva

@flaxz - Admin/Curator


This post is AWESOME!

It has therefore got a manual 100% upvote from @thisisawesome, for the Awesome Daily Highlights in category Freewrite, I give out 1 such vote in that category per day, plus 4 more in other categories, and your post will also be featured in today's Awesome Daily Curation report for more visibility.

The goal of this project is to "highlight Awesome Content, and growing the Hive ecosystem by rewarding it".


Source