The New Logo and the Sound of Smashing

in Freewriters3 years ago (edited)

"We need a new logo."

"I like what we have. If it's not broken….."

All of a sudden, a sound of smashing. Something is broken, probably.

We rush to the scene of the sound.

The shelf has come loose, plates and cups have fallen to the floor. Pieces everywhere

"Did we get this shelf put up on the cheap?" asked my work companion.

"Kind of."

"What do you mean, kind of."

"He's a top bloke. He did my kitchen at home. He did an amazing job. That's why I let him do the kitchen here."

"It's fallen down," said my friend.

"Maybe there was an earthquake?"

"No. If there was an earthquake, we would know."

Then we are interrupted.

"Sir, we've had an earthquake. It is on the news and everything."

"I told you," I said. "There's been an earthquake."

"I didn't think they happened here," said my colleague.

"No," I replied. "I don't remember having one before."

Let's get this place cleared up.

I got my top bloke to come back a few days later and fix the kitchen back up. It was even better than before.

We went to buy some mugs. We accidentally found a shop that was closing down. Cheap mugs. We bought plenty.

"Let's have a look at these mugs."

They may not be everyone's cup of tea, to pardon the pun.

"Star Wars, The Who, The Beatles, Queen, Pink Floyd, AC/DC and many more."

But we agreed that they were awesome and they will hold cups and tea and coffee for those in need.

"There's one plain black one here," said my trusted companion. "Not much character to this."

"That's ok," I said. "We'll design a new logo and see how it looks on this mug."

"I agree," replied my colleague. "A new logo could be just what we need."

coffee-1030971_1920.jpg

A freewrite task, prompt by @mariannewest