The Sloppy Sloth Train

in Freewriters3 years ago

“It’s no wonder your train is an hour late.”

“What makes you say that?” I asked.

“You called it The Sloth.”

“Yes, I did. Sloths are fascinating creatures. Children love sloths.”

The Sloth was a classic steam train, coloured dark green.

px-downloadg2ffc9549ac4264eb71a59783da5fc207fdf7eeac41d5f6f342a69379f64bb71ce784c6f712a6bdf83594b7b2483887c8_1920.jpg

“I would have called mine something different,” said the critical man.

“What would you have called yours?” I asked him.

“I would have called mine Thunder and Lightning,” he replied. “I would have painted it light blue and yellow and it would have been fast. Faster than yours.”

“I’m glad I went with something more original than that,” I said.

“But, your train is an hour late,” said the man.

“Teething troubles,” I said. “This is its maiden journey. We had to make sure that everything else is safe.”

“You can stuff your health and safety,” said the man. “Too much of it now. You should have called it something like Thunder and Lightning, painted it light blue and yellow and got it runner faster. Sloths are lazy creatures that sleep 20 hours a day.”

“What else do you know about Sloths?” I asked.

“I know enough. They are lazy and sleep 20 hours a day.”

“You don’t know much then,” I said. “Did you know that when sloths want to make a poo, they do a dance.”

“No, I didn’t know that,” the man replied.

“Yes, it is true. They swirl their hips around slowly and they make poo. Would you like a demo?”

“No thank you.”

“My train may be called The Sloth, but it is going to be super fast and super noisy. Children will love it.”

The man decided to leave.

“I’m going now. Your train is slow and it has a bad name and colours. I’m not impressed.”

“I don’t care what you think. As long as the children like it. I'm sure they will. In fact, I'm going to tell you, when you next sleep, you will see my train. It will be the quickest thing you've ever seen. Meanwhile, your train will be stuck in the back garden awaiting a health and safety certificate."

"You're not a nice person," said the man.

"I'm not that bad," I replied. "I'm quite nice actually. In fact, if you build your train and get it up and running, I'll be the first person to take my hat off to you."

"Thank you," the man mumbled, under his breath.

". ..and I'll send my sloth around to help you celebrate. He likes to dance."

px-downloadg067af69037d2f6010d9d96f7eb148c160e06b583db8ef90ad9197c04620e697d0fea8dbf3ae11aa1961a1a2b31b0ee84_1920.jpg

Thank you for reading

I wrote this story first, before finding out that @wonderwop had passed. What sad news, he provided so much support, which is particularly important for someone who doesn't have experience. The encouragement is what makes me carry on.

Thank you; and I'll make sure that I carry on.

Freewrite, prompt by @mariannewest

Sort:  

I wrote this story first, before finding out that @wonderwop had passed.

Rest in peace.

Yes, indeed. Thank you.

!discovery 20


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program