5 minute freewrite 2343 prompt audience of one

in Freewriters18 days ago

image.png
This is my post for #freewriters 2343 prompt audience of one hosted by @mariannewest

We are not having much luck selling our areca palms this year. Saturday someone wanted to get 50 of them could we give him a discount, we talked it over and since he was getting that many we would give him 100 dollars off the price. We are already the cheapest in our area. They said they wanted them and would be here at 1pm, we waited and waited and they never showed up. After an hour I sent them a text but no reply, after another hour I sent another one, and still no reply. They never came and I never heard back from them.

Today someone texted me and said they would be here at 11am. They texted back a little after 11 and said they could not find our place, I sent him our house phone number and told them to call me, no reply. I sent him directions with landmarks but no reply. I can see that they saw my text.

Both times my husband was waiting to help with the arecas before running errands. Both times I told him to go ahead and leave and I would be the audience of one if they showed, but they never showed.

Why can't people pick up their phones and send a simple text saying either I changed my mind or they found them cheaper elsewhere? I guess I come from being old school where courtesy was a thing.
Now for my rant
My husband's answer was, that is it, I am not growing anymore. Sometimes he makes me want to scream, just because we had 2 no shows is no reason to not grow them. Growing the areca palms has been a lifesaver for us since fishing has been so bad. How does he think we are going to pay the bills?
photos are mine