5-minute Freewrite by @myjob

in Freewriters3 years ago

IMG_20180919_181920.jpg
This is my post for #freewriters Tuesday prompt nightstand hosted by @mariannewest

Today I quit!!!! I am so depressed over the condition of our river. My husband has fished for 49 years, I have fished for 38 and neither of us knows what we can do to make a living. We grow areca palms to sell but it takes 3 years to get them to sellable height. And no one wants to buy or plant plants in the heat of the summer.

Today I fished the north end of the dredge hole, all the way down Coconut, the cove on the south side of the inlet, the inlet banks, 3 places on May's Island, and 2 places on Sembler's dock. I also took sandfleas and pigfish with me for bait, I had 4 pompano rods, 1 trout rod, and 2 jigging rods. I caught 1 catfish.

Someone is having a worse day than mine, this sailboat was anchored on the west shore and it must have drug anchor or the line snapped because it is on the east shore drifted in shallow water. If it would have come in on the other side of this shore, it would have drifted out the inlet.

IMG_20210622_094258_1.jpg
It looked like a thunderstorm was building so I made that as my excuse for going home. In reality, I just did not know where else to go. I came home, threw my hat on the nightstand, laid down, and took a 2-hour nap. When I woke I still felt depressed.

Sort:  

I'm praying for a better day for you tomorrow. One day at a time is all we can do. All things work together for Good for them that love the Lord, the Bible says. Sometimes it doesn't feel like things will ever improve 😕. Take care

Thank you @wandrnrose7, I did have a better day today, I stayed home. I do agree with you "one day at a time is all we can do" but sometimes it just becomes too much. Again thank you.

Glad to hear that you took some rest. I'm wishing I could today after a migraine yesterday. I need to go to a notary later after work and change over the used car I'm buying to replace my old Buick with a different Buick so it will be a long day. Jeff comes back to collect his dogs today so things will slow a bit. Have a good day 😊.

Congrats on the new car, I drive a 1997 diesel truck, it is big and old but I like it. I call it the beast.

Haha! My 2006 Buick has been hit twice by deer, Jeff slid into it with his work truck this past winter and also fell back into the car a year ago with his arms full denting the seat door 🤪. It kept on ticking but finally rust is catching up on her and my mechanic said "stop trying to fix it". Lol I just didn't want a car payment! I took money out of my 401k and I will be paying that back from my paychecks. I hope you're feeling well today and you have a great day!

Wow, deer can cause a lot of damage to a car. We are like you, we do not buy anything on payments, but we do not have a 401k, we have to save up and pay cash. The bad of my truck rusted away, I had the bumper tied on with ropes. We built a wooden bed on it, I think it gives it personality.

I don't like paying a car payment. I'm blessed my work matches 3% of my contributions at 100%, and another 2% at 50%. I just have to pay the loan back out of each paycheck. I drove this car into the ground. Take care.

Sorry to hear about your fishing day. The fish you did catch looks nice. I love to fish also, and would love to catch one that size.

Hope things get better for you. I can imagine the condition of river is not what it used to be.

Take care and stay safe.

Loading...

I am so sorry ... praying for you ... I wish I could reach in and fix that river and your state!

@deeanndmathews I wish you could fix it, too. I really try not to get depressed, but it is getting harder each time I go on the river.

Congratulations @myjob! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2000 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 3000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

@hivebuzz that is awesome, thank you.

You're welcome @myjob, that's with pleasure 😊🌹👍 Well done!