5 minute freewrite prompt native seeds

in Freewriterslast year

image.png
This is my post for #freewriters Sunday prompt Native seeds hosted by @mariannewest

@jacobtothe told me about walking stick kale, I had never heard of it. So with a little research, I found it. I ordered the seeds and planted them on Nov. 28th.

image.png
I took this picture today, they are really growing. Walking stick kale is from Jersey, England. I read somewhere that this plant dates back 4,000 years, but it is not what they call native seeds since it came from England, not America. What made me so interested in it is the possibility of growing it and making walking sticks to sell.

To get it to grow straight you need to tie it to a stake as it grows and you need to harvest the young leaves. The good thing is you can eat the leaves as you would kale. Or you can feed the leaves to livestock, they say rabbits love it, and even bearded dragons like it.

I can make money from the stalks, feed us, feed the wild rabbits, and give leaves to my granddaughter for her bearded dragons. It is a win-win plant.

To dry the walking stick you chop off the roots at the crown after shaking off the soil. Attach some twine to the hook end of the cane, and suspend it from a nail in an airy location protected from rain. Allow to dry for about 4 to 5 months. When you cut it, 48 inches is a good length, or smaller for a child to use.

Next, you sand the walking stick. You can carve it if you like and stain it then varnish or just varnish or use some sort of sealant. If you like the natural look you can just use a clear sealant. If you like, you can put a grip and a cap on it.

I can not wait to see how they turn out, and with the number of people we have here and how they like to walk in the preserves, I hope they will buy them.

photos are mine

Sort:  

Oh cool it must be proud to have career that's part of your livelihood so neat
!LOL

Being fishermen we have always been self-employed so I am always looking for a way to make money.

Why are brain surgeons so good at persuasion?
They can really get inside your head.

Credit: reddit
@myjob, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @adysscheryl

Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ
(2/4)

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@adysscheryl(2/5) tipped @myjob (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza!

Wow ... this is very impressive ...

I can not wait to see how they turn out.

!BEER

thank you @eii

That is a most interesting plant. I have not heard of this before.

Thanks for sharing.

!CTP

I found this on Veews.io

Posted via Veews

I had never heard of it either, they are really growing. I took this picture today
image.png the picture in the post was 6 days ago. I hope they grow this fast once planted. I can not wait to see how the walking sticks come out.

By all means, keep us posted.
!ALIVE

@myjob! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @beststart. (9/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.