A 5 Day Hike

in Freewriters8 months ago (edited)

1.jpeg

hr.png

I'll take a 5 day hike outta here as soon as possible, thanks.

I'll take a six month hike outta here and come back in summer, thanks. The air is getting cooler at night. I can feel winter in the air already.

I've gone ahead and planned it. It's been months in the making, as some things are. And then they are suddenly upon you and it's time. Time to vacate the area. So I'll take that hike, at long last, if all goes well.

I'll miss the land though. I'll miss the barefoot not necessities and the empty beaches all day long. So much space. So much time. So many stars right down to the horizon.

But I won't miss the politics. I'll miss some of the people, yes. There are always good people among the less good people. Always some good amongst the not so good parts of any experience.

But it looks like I may finally have found accommodation that will work for the next bit of the journey. An expansion. A new beginning and a new town. I think more festive and arty. It will be different and we need some of that now, I think.

April, perhaps. My C.V. has already been sent out to two possible employers. Both in arenas that I'd like to learn more about. But, of course, the best laid plans because look at this last year or two. I stay open to the possibilities, and inevitabilities, of change.

But I'm taking that 5 day hike going on six months of winter away from the coast of storms. It's rough here in the winter, you know.

I'm hoping the farm cottage has a fireplace. It has a wood burning stove in the kitchen. Part of a once-was dream.

And guess what?

There is one of the best cake artists that I've seen online...

just around the corner.

hr.png

👆 This was in response to 22 February 2024, @mariannewest's Freewrite Writing Prompt Day 2290: 5 day hike

And, as I've come to add more and expand on... 👇

hr.png

Travel is, hopefully, afoot at last! Hold fingers and toes because it'll be both fun and interesting. And vibrant. And forward movement which I'm pretty amped for now.

I've been searching in Cape Town for accommodation for some months. But the city is simply crazy expensive for a single person still rebuilding. It's location, location, location and fuckin' expensive, expensive, expensive and this is more security orientated than only a decent view nowadays.

So I've also been looking everywhere in the Western Cape. And it may be West for the winter. I like this idea as it rains far less up there, the landscape is totally different and it's towards some old friends and where my brother is staying as well.

And the place that I used to call my home away from home isn't too far a drive.

Fond memories of that part of the world. We go back. That place and I.

And, now, some possible plans for work and learning.

But I won't say more in case I jinx it.

hr.png

And now for something completely different? Monty Python with a question mark

Yeah... hold fingers and toes, please. It's been a long haul. Something colourful and fun, that smells like cookies, would be awesome!

 


new-med-hr.png

Happening slowly because always...

 

Screenshot 2024-02-22 at 21.03.53.png

Listen on Substack

hr.png

Put 'em together and what have you got? More to follow... maybe

 

hr.png

Dream big.

Dream forever. 😊

On we go 👣

Self doubt and fear can take a 5 day hike!

Adventure is out there "Up"

hr.png

Form the album "Fumbling Towards Ecstacy" 😉
 

sb-hr-2.png

Eternal Seeker
Hardened Dreamer
Mother
Peaceful Warrior
Determined Dancer
and Stargazer

still...

Beyond fear is freedom

And there is nothing to be afraid of.

To Life, with Love... and always for Truth!
Nicky Dee

www.mettame.art

sb-hr-2.png

All images not sirectly sourced are my own. Photo editing done with GIMP.

 

Sort:  

Ooooh... thanks. I'll look them up right now.

Suurbraak is gorgeous!

My man and I actually looked at relocating there once upon a moon agon.

Thanks for this <3

Fingers crossed, also on the feet. It's a bit uncomfortable but I can make the effort for you ;)

Did you now change your photo on Telegram? 😅

☕ I told you, by now I wear sunglasses and a cap. 🌞

I'll try to keep up!

Oooh, a new journey afoot. Nothing better.

Yeah! :D

Please the gods and goddesses it pans out 🫰

Moving, are you?

(I'll be patient holding fingers)

Yes, I hope so.

It hasn't felt right here for a while. And I don't want to experience more of the WC.

Nothing cast in stone. Of course :)

You'll make it, right place will pop at right time ;)

:)

I feel it now <3

You're hiking to the next town, through the African bush? What an adventure!!!

I can't wait to read that post 🙏

This post has been manually curated by the VYB curation project

:D

Well not through the bush, exactly. It was metaphorical 😆

Travel plans delayed because... well... trust yer instincts.

Travel plans in progress...

Sounds like you avoided trouble! Have a safe and fun adventure 🙏

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL

OH NO!
You are out of jokes for the day!

@wrestlingdesires you can call @lolzbot a maximum of 8 times per day.
Level up by buying more $LOLZ so you can share more jokes per day!

Well... I do my best 😆

You too, angel 😇 💖

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@wrestlingdesires(14/15) tipped @nickydee

I hope that you are not posting because you are having a great time somewhere, with someone and you couldn't care less about hive and the online world :)

Cheers!

:D

I'm not posting here because I'm busy posting stuff that doesn't resonate here at the moment.

That's all.

I wish I was off having adventures in the sunshine, my friend. But there is work to be done!

Taking a slow day today...

And have a post that lives with Hive waiting to be written. I got the footage from the younger human at last. I had to buy it off him, no less. #CapitalismIsExpensive 😆

But I also want to support his journey into content creation so happy to make the exchange.

I need a day offline today though. And Fortnite has a new update so... I can't not. Sorry. It is what it is. I love Fortnite <3

I'll catch up with you soon. Promise.

And sorry so quiet. I must work and build now because money and it is what it is for me right now. And I'm fucking tired of being broke. It's been a solid learning curve but I have plans and responsibilities. You know how it goes <3

brb always.

Yes, I understand. I was just checking on you, to see if you are all right. Nothing more. Be well!

Cheers

That means a lot to me, my friend.

Thank you!