Why Justify a Lie?

in Freewriters8 months ago (edited)

20240212_170258.jpg

hr.png

I've developed a keen interest in Flash Fiction recently.

So here I am.

But it's this particular story that has pushed me to try it...

 

"For sale: baby shoes, never worn."
I thought it was by the master of frugal words, Hemmingway, but it turns out nobody knows the truth about this story, yet 😉 Original source and info

hr.png

I suspect this is much harder than it seems, by the way. This Flash Fiction thing. I mean... I already messed the prompt up.

I wont' lie. I never lie. Anymore. It just seems a waste of time, really. Because the truth, as it turns out, actually does come to light if you just keep on speaking it.

Or if you don't.

Seems my dad was right again.

hr.png

So here is my entry to this week's @mariannewest's Freewrite Writing Prompt Day 2283: Justify the Lie

I'm afraid I'm out of the running for prizes because I messed up. Twice. I wont lie, remember.

The first time I hesitated and lost my writing. *sigh

The second time I didn't set the timer correctly and I wrote until my back hurt, trying to drum those thoughts out and then...

"Surely this must be more than five minutes!" I thought in desperation. No timer set. Oh boy.

But here you go anyway.

I'll get it right next time.

I think because I've told you the truth now. So I won't make this particular mistake again. I mean... I've lost the chance to win this one today.

No matter.

I've developed a keen interest in Flash Fiction, you see.

And, I'm sure, it'll make some people here breathe a sigh of relief!

Because, as you can see...

I do get a bit wordy!

And that's the truth.

hr.png

Justify the Lie

(more than five minutes but not much, I think)
 

Why justify a lie? Because a lie can't be justified. Justify as a word implies "Justice". And Justice is about Truth. And a lie is as far from Truth as Truth could possibly be. So you can't, rationally, justify a Lie.

It's not really possible.

You might be able to explain a Lie. But you can never Justify a Lie.

An explanation, and arguably the only explanation for a Lie, is that you were afraid. Afraid of the Truth. And lying is more acceptable, these days, perhaps. This way you might explain a Lie and everybody would nod their heads sagely and understand. And it's okay, I suppose, to have lied if you are too afraid to speak your truth. Who isn't in the climate we've created?

A climate foggy and misty with half hidden truths. Lies now acceptable instead. Or preferred, really. It's just more polite, you know.

"Why's that lady so fat?" the child laughed loudly.

"Shhhhhhhhhhhhh!" said the mother angrily. Embarrassed at the honesty. "We don't say those kinds of things!" she admonished sternly.

A year and a half later, the fat lady died of a heart attack.

"I don't want that boy over at our house ever again!" Said the angry mother. "He needs to be taught some manners."

"Oh, it was so lovely to have your son over to play today." she smiled when the child's mother arrived to take him home. Her son looked up at her silently and said nothing.

After they had left he stopped and looked up at his mother again, curiously. "Why did you lie, mom?" he said with some confusion.

The mother stood there helplessly and could not provide a justification. Instead, she smiled and nodded.

How do you justify a lie?

Perhaps simply by saying yes. That was a lie.

Perhaps simply by saying yes. That was a lie.

Perhaps simply by saying...

that was a lie and I did it because I was afraid to speak my truth.

Then, perhaps, you might wonder why you were afraid, I suppose. Imagine that? To wonder why you are afraid.

They use this stuff called - oh boy I can't remember the name now because I'm under pressure to write this prompt and I don't work well under pressure - but it's a therapy to reduce phobias and I know I will remember it when this is done and dusted.

Hey... everything and all of us are going to be done and dusted one day, you know. Is it worth spending so much time justifying not really living and not really being real? Maybe I'll read the other prompts and find out.

For me. It is not. Not anymore.

I spent many, many years justifying lies, you see.

My own and those of many people around me. And it was okay, I guess. All that justification in the form of social etiquette and manners. But at the end of the day nobody involved in those interactions got to know each other much.

Or themselves really.

hr.png

20240212_170258.jpg

"Not a Scared Cat"

I met this guy on a walk the other day and stopped to say hello. He came right up to me and we had a great moment. Super cool cat!

sb-hr-2.png

Eternal Seeker
Hardened Dreamer
Mother
Peaceful Warrior
Determined Dancer
and Stargazer

still...

Beyond fear is freedom

And there is nothing to be afraid of.

To Life, with Love... and always for Truth!
Nicky Dee

www.mettame.art

sb-hr-2.png

All images my own. All photo editing done with GIMP.

 

Sort:  

Wanting... needing... waiting...
for you
to justify my lie

Yeah ok so that's not how the song goes. But I agree, lying is lame in most cases. "I'd rather not say" is what I am learning to say rather than lie in the case of boundaries and privacy.

That sounds better than the original :)

I can't stand lying. It used to trigger the hell outta me. Send me into a rage.

Now it only make me frown a bit. If at all. Progress.

I think I need to learn more of your diplomacy 😆 (I know I do!)

I can't think of any situation I'd not be able to tell the truth in anymore, actually. Why wouldn't you regarding boundaries etc?

Now you've made me curious! Oh boy

I'm still learning my own diplomacy, really. It's been in that awkward stage between conceptualization and application for years now. COnstantly re-conceptualizing as old scenarios present themselves in a new light to my ever-growing self...

I think there are still times where tact in an issue, and a soft lie is better. For example:

Provider: How are you doing today?
Patient: Oh, my back hurts, and my neck pain has flared up again since last week. Looking forward to my massage. How are you?
Provider: Awful. I've had stomach pain and diarrhea all week. I really didn't want to come in today but I have to make money so here I am. Let's get this done shall we so I can go home. Great! Definitely looking forward to the weekend.

I just wrote a story to reply to your comment!

:D

brb!

And thank you for engaging!!! <3

You marvelous woman, you.