Social Media Today.

in Freewriters2 years ago

If our precious social media doesn't end us one day 🤦.
Good day hivers.
I hope your day has been beautiful.

Since the start of this year, there's been plenty drama and dragging on "our" social media platforms (Nigeria in particular), involving some people's role models, influencers and celebrities (let's not talk about our politicians yet) I'm sure we've been seeing them.
So, last night, I couldn't sleep, I felt a bit uneasy (disturbed) so I stayed up to watch movies on DStv.
Seems they knew the drama going on currently, they showed a movie called "people you may know" a 2017 movie directed by Sherwin Shilati. The movie mainly described exactly what's going on in the world today.

img_0.9445014457440207.jpg
Pixabay

Social media shows us exactly what we want to see, people hiding their dirty deals and portraying themselves as saints on social media, some people duping other people's hard earned money, children disgracing themselves and parents on social media while their parents try to cover their parenting mistakes.
Teenagers getting into online fights that doesn't concern them in any way, making enemies for themselves forgetting the consequences of their actions. Social media never forgets.
Although I'm not directly involved in any of these (I'm addicted to social media but I prefer keeping to myself) but I feel pity for my generation.

img_0.19334420422638118.jpg
Pixabay

The way we carry social media on our heads like there's no tomorrow especially the upcoming generations 🤦. I know there are millions of advantages of social media, people meeting their spouses, getting job opportunities etc and I'm really grateful for it but the negativities are just too much.
Everyone is shouting "we need to make the world better" but we're not willing to make the change.
Just look at the case of those underaged children (10-13 years old, I think) having sex, who knows what they've been watching and seeing on social media, underaged children playing "truth or dare?" Well, let's not talk about it yet.
I just weep for this generation and hope we make a change soon.
❤️&🕯️ From @orah14