Freefall, a Freewrite

in Freewriters2 years ago

image.png

text15.png

"But if you push it off a cliff, it stays in the air, doesn't it?"

Yes, but only if you give it a really good push. One that leaves no trace of you on it.

I'm not sure I can let go like that.

Then it will plunge to the earth and die an embarrassing death.

Can I do it tomorrow?

It's best to jump right in and not think about it too much. That's the hard part, the not thinking too much before you push it over the cliff.

So it just flies all on its own, I don't have to do anything but give it a really good shove and stop thinking, just let it fly.

Correct.

text15.png

There is one other way to do it. You have to find the trap door, or rather, it has to find you. Then suddenly you are suspended in air. Your choice is to grab for the edge of the trap door and struggle to stay right where you are, or you let go and take the plunge.

You're going straight down on this one, and there's not much chance of going back, but you can bang yourself up pretty good on the way down if you resist at all. In that case, you have to admit defeat. Hey, it happens to all of us.

This method ends up with a product that is all about you.

text15.png

Your first prompt is the egg broke on the floor

GO

The egg broke on the floor. The ants were the first to notice. Out they trooped, leaving a black ring around the outskirts of the eggy goo. I watched. I wondered who would find it next.

The dog of course, who lapped it up, ants and all. Perhaps this is when he got the cancer. I'd been poisoning those ants, and they poisoned my dog. I'd already tried a number of other remedies, and finally given up. I can't abide by ants all over my kitchen counters! They just keep coming! Soon they are coming in the back door, climbing up my canning jars, getting into everything! Then I have to fumigate!

THEN I GET CANCER.

So it's best to nip that egg problem in the bud, and just get down on your hands and knees and sop it up. You can't really sop up a raw egg though, so I like to scoop as much as I can up in my bare hands, and deposit that in the garbage. Then it's easy to clean up the rest with a cleansing wipe.

Time's up!

Excellent!

So which technique did you use? Did you push the story off the cliff and let it fly, or did you yourself fall through a trap door?

image.png

This is my entry to @mariannewest three-prompt freewrite challenge, with a deviation into today's prompt. All prompts are in bold italics.

Not every freewrite of mine is publishable. Yesterday's three prompt freewrite gave me a very hard time. I got one segment for the first prompt that I liked very much, and could not do a thing with the second prompt, so after a bunch of starts and stops, I abandoned the whole affair.

There's been some modification of freewriting going on these days, so I made my own modification by using today's prompt trap door as the second prompt for yesterday's three-prompter, then went back to finish up with yesterday's third prompt. Each segment is the result of five minutes of freewriting, followed by untimed sprucing up without changing content.

Thank you for reading my freewrite!

text15.png

image

Sort:  

Excellent freewrite! Super thought provoking my friend!

I think I tend to push it off the cliff but forget to let go at the same time. Once in a blue moon it comes crashing down through a trap door with me still holding on, but then acts like a buffer of sorts and saves my life.

I could probably use a bit of practice with properly letting it go.

I hope you have been well and adjusting to your new home my friend, just catching up here and been super busy, but you're always on my mind and I'm always looking forward to the moments where I can drink my coffee while consuming your wonderful content. <3

Aw...

I love my new home, but am having terrible trouble trying to hardwire my devices. That has sucked up three full days, and will suck up today as well. Even though it is still possible to hardwire everything, the cable company techies have no idea about it. It wasn't that long ago that we didn't have wifi and had to hardwire everything! Seems like the techies' memories have been erased regarding ethernet connections. Very strange

You don't have anyone to help you? Damn @owasco that doesn't sound like too much fun :(

If you want to take a break and watch futuremind clean, I have a video encoding right now that should publish shortly on my 3d printing account. Nothing special but I haven't been on video on the blockchain in quite a long time :)

Have a good day, and try to get some relaxation if you can!

Oh how I love the progression of events, the causation, the **Blame Game, if that's the right term. The guilt! And the hindsight vs foresight.

Scooping up the egg from the floor with bare hands.... eh. Not me. I save junk mail envelopes and those plastic credit-card sized gift cards: who's gonna reload one? Not me: I despise gift cards. They're in my kitchen, scraping kettles and skillets, and cat vomit off the floor.

Too Much Information, I know.

Clever freewrite, as always! I love that image of the ants surrounding that fallen egg....

Oh I love that information! I can see using junk mail - that's a good idea! Next time, I'll head to my paper recycling instead.

Thanks for reading my little piece!

This was brilliant. How clever to write a freewrite about freewriting. I !LUV ed it! @scholaris I enjoy this kind of writing :-)

Thank you!

I never thought about the poisons you put out for ants being bad for pets if they eat the food with the ants. It makes sense. I use boric acid mixed with a little sugar, I place it on a piece of foil and leave it on the countertop.

I'll remember that if it happens in my new house. Thx!

You're welcome

Now you brought A whole new level into free writing. Reading through this was fun and it made me realize that I still have a long way to go in free writing and I have a whole lot to learn from you.

The only thing to learn is how fun it is to let go and to allow the stories to tell themselves. I "learned how to do it" right here at the freewritehouse.

If you really want a challenge, try doing it with The Most Dangerous Writing App. This app erases everything you have written if you stop for even a brief moment, so you simply cannot stop typing. Amazing stories come out using this. @felt.buzz is the master at this method. I only use it now and then, when I am feeling especially brave.

It's nice to have you with us.

Well well that sounds scary lol. I'll definitely try it out. Such challenges perfects one's writing skill

Love it, as usual. The first one is almost like how I fall asleep sometimes. Falling down a trap door.

I recall a kids book once where a kid tried not to drop her jelly beans - as the things that happen after, in a rippling chain of cause/effect, ended up with her being swallowed by a whale. The last line was: 'So, do not drop your jelly beans!'.

Oh, those rippling chains of cause and effect! If we thought too much about those, we'd never get out of our beds. Some don't.

Thanks for reading, and commenting on, my little story. It's always lovely when you stop by. xo

HaHa, when you said to go down and suck up the egg, the image came to me: I saw myself sliding on my knees with my mouth making sucking sounds, slurping the raw egg into me. Disgust!

A very successful freewrite! And I like that you bend the rules a bit for yourself and make it fit the way you like it.

Of course, this view of the living, the egg, the ants, the dog, everything arouses my spirit of contradiction and I want to shout at the nasty woman that she is playing a wicked game with it. But then there is also the fact that we humans have that certain killer something, defending our habitat without mercy against even the smallest creature. Humans destroy because they live. The one who can't stand that lives in a dream world and doesn't know himself.