Lawyers, A Baneful Freewrite

in Freewriters3 years ago

monkey557586_640.jpg

text16.png

I know a thing or two about lawyers. I learned these things the hard way. I hope I don't offend some of you with this post.

One - Before a lawyer cashes your retainer check, they ALL tell you what you want to hear. After that check clears, the story changes radically.

Two - Lawyers have lives, and families, and problems. When their life is challenging, they don't give a crap about your problems.

Three - Most of them do nothing at all to earn your monthly fee.

My least favorite lawyer of all time said and did the following things in my first encounter. Mystifyingly, I still hired him, and eventually he made more on the suit than I did:

Me - "Do I have a good case?"

Him - "Here. Take this magic eight ball and see what it says."

Me - "Have you handled a case like this before, and what was the outcome?"

Him - "I never lose a case. My clients are the ones who lose the cases. They screw up, not me."

The moral of my sad, sad tale is REPRESENT YOURSELF. YOU WILL DO A BETTER JOB THAN ANY OF THOSE LAMEBRAINS.

FxX5caie56yqUbvo2DTJv1i6qm8z4ixTabBTrjodFyZCPuFbZDncXQB89jd6mZkWM2QSrq2ahH2DhyyNE1pjQLgqmXzcj4F36iojmAUYgMVQ 2.png

This is my entry to @mariannewest's daily freewrite challenge. Today's prompt is "lawyer", a subject that, unfortunately, I know a lot about. I can't believe how many words I got on the page in five short minutes. A bonanza! It feels good to have gotten this out. Thank you for reading my little rant.

Sort:  

Glad I'm not a lawyer! ... I picked my winner.

Hi owasco,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Lol, most of the freewrite have 'cool' things to say about lawyers. They are simply doing their jobs. ☺️