Learning to Trust Myself, a Freewrite

in Freewriters4 years ago

monkey557586_640.jpg

text15.png

There is one lesson I have still not learned in this life. I've failed to recognize an opportunity to learn this lesson time and time again.

There was the guy at the garden shop who had just sold me a product I was a bit leery to buy, but I bought it anyway.

There was the employee who ended up robbing me every night by taking home lavish meals for himself at my expense.

There was the plumber who managed to get 300 feet of plumbing snake stuck in ancient plumbing pipes. That snake reached into the basement, four floors below the toilet I'd asked him to unclog. It cost me $8000 to remove.

There was the orderly at the hospital who tried to get a hospital gown off my son even though he was hooked up to a central line.

Just yesterday there was a man at the post office who asked me to let him ahead of me because he had something "quick and easy" to take care of and he was in a hurry.

They all said the same damn thing to me. Can you guess what it was?

Life's lesson still to be learned: Never trust a man who says "Trust me."

text15.png

This is my entry to @mariannewest's daily freewrite challenge. I have no idea how long it took to write, because I didn't have time to set a timer before this thing started pouring out. It did not take long though. Thank you for reading my words!

FxX5caie56yqUbvo2DTJv1i6qm8z4ixTabBTrjodFyZCPuFbZDncXQB89jd6mZkWM2QSrq2ahH2DhyyNE1pjQLgqmXzcj4F36iojmAUYgMVQ 2.png

Image by Dean Moriarty, @wales

owasco_banner.png



Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Sort:  

Who does? I do stupid stuff knowing all too well that I am making mistakes then to later pay dearly for all of it.

Rule number One: Never trust a man who says "trust me." Rather, alarm bells should be going off. Walk away.
This freewrite turned out to be funny, but I wasn't really joking.

but I wasn't really joking.

This is why I did a simple freewrite to respond to it with my own experience 🧡

Loading...

Oh my oh my...
Your experiences though, what the hell!

"Never trust the one who says trust me"
I will sure keep that in my mind.