Letting It Rip!

in Freewriters2 years ago

image.png

This is not my first rodeo.

I've been on that bronco many times. I set that buzzer, and out I go, barely hanging on, no idea of where I'm going to go. Dust rising from the bronco's hooves, my eyes on nothing, my entire body at one with my mount, my transport, my instrument, my portal to another world. A sun drenched world, where I needn't think at all, but simply let the images take form, to become visible to me. I merely splash them onto the page. The computer's keys become my horse's hooves, pushing me along for a few minutes.

I laugh often at my inner being's imaginativeness. How did she ever think of that?!! The truth is, I didn't. It came to me, unbidden. The trick is to not expect a thing, to go along for the ride, to hold on at every turn, and let the ride come to its natural conclusion, a mere five minutes later.

So yeah, I've done this before, lots of times, but it's been a while. Thanks for coming along for the ride today.

image.png

This is my entry to @mariannewest's daily freewrite challenge. Today's prompt is not my first rodeo.



image

Sort:  

Good one. I love the idea of splashing images onto the page, and your whole extended metaphor. Good to see you back and Happy Fourth!

I miss her all the time.

Thank you for stopping by! Same to you. Why haven't I seen any stories from you of late? Gonna have to go directly to your page, your posts do not show up in my feed.

oh my goodness I have not been following you!! How is that possible?

I don't know. Slacker! :)

The computer's keys become my horse's hooves, pushing me along for a few minutes.

Love that. It's quite the trick, isn't it, putting your controlling mind aside and letting the muse take over. You of all people know what I mean by this.

You of all people know what I mean by this.

That's quite a compliment! Thank you.

And it IS the trick, for me, to write anything at all. I freewrite all stories, then gussy them up, adding new ideas that come to me while washing dishes or pulling weeds, if it's for something other than a freewrite challenge.

I'd change that sentence you pulled out to something like

The computer's keys become my horse's hooves, clopping along...

I hear you, many times I see the prompt and think about what I am going to write about only to let my fingers type something completely different from my thoughts.

I couldn't resist and thought I would try to see if you jumped in - I finally got rewarded. How could you resist, woman?

It is only five minutes. :)

This was so very you and I trotted right behind you, trying to catch wind of it. Alas. no to be done, but, I can pick up the trail and read it til done.

How do you do it?

Nice correlation - the bucking bronco, the ticking timer and the unexpected journey.

Dear @owasco, sorry to jump in a bit off topic but may I ask you to support the HiveBuzz proposal?
It recently lost its funding, is struggling to get back above the HBD stabilizer proposal, and is in dire need of help.
You can support it on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

On behalf ot The HiveBuzz team, thank you!

Sorry I'm 21 days late seeing this, Stacey! I love it! Love the insight too that these words come to us unbidden - "The trick is to not expect a thing, to go along for the ride, to hold on at every turn, and let the ride come to its natural conclusion, a mere five minutes later."

You haven't posted for a while, and I worry about you and your family and the lake house and all, but through it all, I trust Hazel (the new puppy! I remembered her name!) is brightening your days. Hoping you're well, looking forward to seeing your next "rodeo" results (even if I'm hardly ever here these days, having slid down the slippery slope and into an abyss, too many deaths, too much chaos).