Mothers On The Lam, a freewrite

in Freewriterslast year

image.png

Over the mountain and through the woods
to Grandmother's house we go

The kids were singing in the car. We'd been on the road for six hours by then, and I was frazzled. Boy could I have used a pee break! But we were on the lam, and I would have to hold it until we crossed state lines in another hour.

I feel sick

the youngest said.

"Switch seats with your sister Henry. She needs to be by the window."

A couple of unbuckled seat belts later, I could see the flashing lights far behind me. I swerved to the right in shock and fright. We could not be stopped. I was sure there was an APB out on me, on us. We'd just robbed a bank after all.

It had been so easy. I simply sent my eldest in with a bloody knee. Fake of course. She had cut her knee the day before, and all I had to do was add some stage blood. Sarah knew very well how to cry and create a scene, which she did with aplomb. The security guard offered to go get the first aid supplies.

In I came, with the youngest in a stroller and the middle child holding my hand. I went up to the teller (who looked familiar), pointed my toy gun at her, and demanded $200. The woman looked at me, at my children, and at my eldest, who was still putting on quite the show. The teller understood full well. She took $200 worth of silver coins out of her own purse, and gave it to me.

As the cop car passed me enroute to ruining someone else's day, I remembered where I had seen the teller. It was at the post office in the next state, on one of those wanted posters. She was wanted for running off with her three children.

Kindred spirits, mothers on the lam with their kids.

image.png

This is my entry to @mariannewest's daily freewrite challenge. Today's prompt is over the mountain.

Last night I finished a Barbara Kingsolver book, Pigs in Heaven. In it, a mother took off with a daughter she was afraid of losing because of legal glitches. How many mothers are living in fear of losing their children because of ridiculous legalities? I know I did many things that I would not have done had I not had the law, or child "protective" services, in my rear view mirror. Children who are home schooled are somewhat safer from these fears, as most of the events originate with a teacher or doctor reporting non-conforming behaviors on the part of the parents. Homeschool your children! Break the stranglehold the schools place on our freedoms!



image

Sort:  

A great little read, clever and amusing. I love a good punchline.
I agree with you on the homeschooling issue and on what seems to be an ongoing erosion of parental rights.

Parental rights to decide medical treatments for their children. I cannot believe the level of trust we are expected to put into the medical industry, when it clearly is making us sick.

Glad you enjoyed my freewrite. Thanks for stopping by!

Great story

Gratzie.

You are Welcome

Beautiful write💕

Thank you!

My pleasure 🙏🤗

That was a great little story! Rather an unusual way to rob a bank, but it worked.

Thanks! Glad you stopped by!