Unfathomable, a Freewrite

in Freewriters2 years ago (edited)

swirl-1170475_640.jpg


"What is this? Why do you bring this?"

"up" I responded.

He looked up.

"I see nothing."

I got a bit peeved. We'd been over this before. "No, no I was correcting your English. You should have said "Why do you bring this up."

"You're fired." he shot back.

"Huh?" I really needed this job.

"Is that not correct? You are fired up, no?"

My boss asked me to correct his English, then pulled my leg whenever I did it. It was tiring. Most bosses are.

So I decided I was going to pull back.


He let the letter fall and walked over to the origin of the sound. It was the tiniest of squeaks. I thought it must be a mouse, but when we looked behind the radiator, we found a tiny creature, pure white, with pinkish eyes, pinkish nails, and a pinkish underbelly. The creature said

"Please have seats gentlemen. I have some big news for you."

The creature jumped onto my boss' desk and began to propound

Life begins when we say it begins
and death is forever present
one and the same
in death we live
long live the natural man
the man of self made truths
and respect for the self made truths of others

"That's what the letter said!" my boss blurted out.


He rushed to his desk and grabbed a scruffy plant that had been scruffily on his desk for the full two years I had worked for him. It was the ugliest of plants, mottled, sporadically fuzzy, perpetually just about to bloom, and smelly too. At the utterances from the mysterious creature, the flower opened and the office filled with an ambrosial fragrance. I was overcome with joy. We all three were visibly radiating love.

I wish it could be this easy. I wish we could all find a tiny creature within arm's length that could talk sense into us via poetry and bring us back to our natural state of love and joy.

FxX5caie56yqUbvo2DTJv1i6qm8z4ixTabBTrjodFyZCPuFbZDncXQB89jd6mZkWM2QSrq2ahH2DhyyNE1pjQLgqmXzcj4F36iojmAUYgMVQ 2.png

This is my entry to @mariannewest's daily freewrite challenge. On Saturdays we have a second option of the fabulous Three Part Freewrite: we write for one prompt for five minutes, then move onto the second and third prompts, no peeking ahead. It's always a trip! The prompts are in bold italics in my entry today.

I had such a hard time with this freewrite!! I started and stopped for the first prompt a few times before I got something to flow. Most of the second and third prompts were produced laboriously, except for the poem which spurted right out. In the end, my usual message shined through. Thank you for reading my enigmatic freewrite.

text16.png

Notice for Newbies on Hive

Real people read your posts in this community! There are no rules!!! A post doesn't suck up your entire day!!!! You can safely let your imagination take flight! You will feel the love!

Try to remember to leave a link under @mariannewest's . That will help us find you. The easiest way to find the daily prompt is to go directly to @mariannewest's blog. Here is today's post.

To maximize readership, you might also post in the Freewriters Community (or @hive-161155), use a first tag of #freewrite or #freewritepoetry, go leave comments on others' freewrites, or any combination of those.

We are good people, it's a no judgment zone, and #freewriters is an excellent community to get your feet wet on Hive.


image by @wales, Dean Moriarty

Sort:  

There were a few o' those critters in the forest yesterday by t'light o't'moonnnnnn

IMG20220417133308.jpg

Oh those definitely would have spoken to me! Lovely!

We all need a little friend like that :) I wonder how he knew what to say to the plant?

Where did you get that picture, by the way? Sourcing is important ♥️
!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL

Oh shoot thank you for finding that! I don't think I have ever forgotten before. gonna edit.

We've all been there 😂 Glad I could help :)

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@wrestlingdesires(12/15) tipped @owasco (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

Up... I need to get up off my lazy you know what and look at the #freewrite

Le sigh

Solid writing, no matter what you think. :)

Please do! I'll bet a freewritten poem of yours would float my boat!

My writing feels abysmal lately.

Le sigh.

Maybe I need something different. ❤

It happens, and it's a bummer. Try a freewrite! I make my mind go blank, or try to anyway (sometimes I can't do this) and let the stories or poems write themselves. Freefalling in words. xo

Love it! I wish it, too:

I wish it could be this easy. I wish we could all find a tiny creature within arm's length that could talk sense into us via poetry and bring us back to our natural state of love and joy.

Leave to you to find the only lines in the whole thing, besides the poem, that were written freely. Everything else was so hard to get out.

In reality love is even easier to find; but we are too afraid to let go of our worries. Maybe? Loved the joke at the beginning.

I was pleased with myself on that joke too - thanks for seeing it.

Love is very easy, it's true, easiest thing in the world to do. Just a little adjustment on the vibes dial, and there you go. I have trouble staying tuned in, but simply have to remember and tinker a bit with my personal love dial, and there I am again.

Enlightenment is a practice and not a destination. I have to remind myself of that daily. Then there are whale sounds ... they help:)

I Need that beastie! Maybe I wouldn't kill everything I plant....

I have to write slowly, with measured words, and some corrections; to arrive at understanding, and get my point across!

But I enjoy your posts, keep them coming.

👍💗🤠💙🤕🚀

And I hope you keep stopping by!

Here's the thing about freewrites - if I am really writing in the moment, just letting the words spill out and write themselves, I always think I am writing a bunch of garbage. But I finish it, walk away for a few minutes or more, and come back to read it. They almost always amaze me!

I understand, I just get stuck in tech writing, which is where I came from. That and patents, where every word is critical! 🥵🤕
https://patft.uspto.gov/netacgi/nph-Parser?Sect1=PTO2&Sect2=HITOFF&p=1&u=%2Fnetahtml%2FPTO%2Fsearch-bool.html&r=3&f=G&l=50&co1=AND&d=PTXT&s1=%22Bed+Check%22.ASNM.&OS=AN/%22Bed+Check%22&RS=AN/%22Bed+Check%22

But I enjoy your writes! Are you still on steemit any more? Pretty lonesome there....

😭🥵🥺