Single Prompt Option: one boot - The Weekend 5-Minute Freewrite - 8/8/2020

in Freewriters4 years ago

F7BDAA074D3E4FFCADC696E457194C36.jpeg

Freewrites I’ve done have so far always been short fiction, but not today’s. A bit more than a year ago, my wife and I drove to Viroqua, Wisconsin to attend the wedding of friends of ours. My wife had been there a few times before but it was my first time. We had some free time so did some exploring in town. Where I took a picture of a lone boot sitting on the sidewalk, just minding its own business.

Who loses one boot?

It was neither brand new nor falling apart. One block off Main Street, so in an area with a fair amount of traffic. Where was its twin? Sitting in the mud room of a house six blocks away, being stared at by its hungover owner wondering where and how he’d lost the other boot last night?

Or was the boot I saw an art installation? There are lots of artsy people in Viroqua. One person’s lost boot is another’s artistic masterpiece?

Written in response to the #freewrite challenges that @mariannewest has been posting.

BA732FFB39EA460E871A5F7EE2773E11.png
Badge thanks to @arcange