What a Man's Got to Do - Chapter Three (short story)

in Freewriters3 years ago

Be sure to read the first two chapters if you have not already:

Chapter One
Chapter Two

I'm writing this just one chapter at a time as an experiment to see where my ideas can lead. I don't know where this is going yet. Thanks for enjoying this story along with me.


There's plenty of driftwood on the beach. A lot of it has rotted. Obviously nobody has been here for a few years. The previous occupants probably got killed while going into town. Maybe they were only using it seasonally and never made it back here from wherever.

I bring back another armful of wood and drop it next to an area I've already cleared of dirt. I'm going to need some tinder. Luckily the house hasn't been raided. In the bathroom I'm able to find some vaseline and cotton balls. That should work. There's a grill in the garage, so I bet there's a lighter. If not, I'll have to break the bathroom mirror and hope it doesn't suddenly get cloudy. I head to the garage and check around the grill but there's no lighter. There are some drawers nearby. The first is full of wires and nuts and bolts. I open the second drawer and it's mostly old mail and recipes. I start pulling these out and nothing. I try another drawer and bingo! A half empty box of safety matches.

I head back out behind the house, toward the beach. I smell smoke. God dammit that fucker already got a fire going.

"Danny! Hold off on the wood!" That asshole has taken all my wood and practically has a bonfire going. I am a meticulous fire builder. I start small and don't go any bigger than I need for basic warmth and cooking. I wasn't planning on spending all day making return trips from the beach. I mean, it's not far, but Danny can go get wood himself instead of immediately setting fire to my efforts. And I plan to be here for some time, maybe permanently. I figured the damn wood from the beach would be all I would need for the most part.

"Fuckin' Christ, Scott relax. There's enough wood in these parts for years."

"That's not the point!" I say, walking up closer. "I collected all this wood while you sat around drinking up all the beer."

"Piss off."

Screw this. I'm going to shove this asshole into the damn fire. And then, missing that he even pulled back, I see Danny's fist coming straight at my face.