Repaying A Debt

in Freewriters24 days ago

Jachim was hiding in the attic of a family loyal to the Empire, trembling with fear, waiting at any moment for enemy soldiers to come and find him and hand him over to their arch-mage, Obafemi.

Before, he always thought that whenever he was nearing the end of his life, he would raise his head and face death bravely. But now he saw that his ideas were wrong

He wanted to survive with all his heart, but he knew that such a thing was not possible. The enemy had to destroy the opponent's great magician to ensure his victory.

He knelt on the ground and put his hands on his chest in prayer.
"I wish I was sure that this deadly fear was temporary. But I know that after I die, my real nightmare will begin."

At that moment there was a knocking sound and someone shouted:
"Open up. We have to search the house."

Jachim's heart collapsed in his chest. He went to the small window of the room and jumped down like an agile cat and took refuge in the nearby meadow.

Using magic, he increased his hearing power and listened to the landlord's words with the soldiers.
"Yes, thanks to you, our general condition here is good. Your comrades did not take our goats from us, and we are very grateful to them."

"I'm glad you're doing well. We've been ordered to treat the common people well."

Jachim was so focused on their conversation that he didn't notice the footsteps behind him and when a hand was placed on his shoulder, he jumped up.

"I finally found you."

Jachim turned his face and saw a tall man wearing a magnificent robe looking at him with calm and serious eyes.

Jachim's mouth became dry from fear and his heart rate intensified and he stammered:
"You must be Obafemi."

"I am the one you saved from death when he was a small child."

Hope and joy filled Jachim's being and he stood up and put his hands on the man's shoulders.
"Valdemar, you've become a man!"

"Yes, I am Valdemar and of course I am Obafemi."

Hope disappeared from Jachim's existence and went into the air, and fear gripped his heart again.
"I thought the gods sent you to save me, but apparently they just want to surprise me in these last moments of my life."

Tears rolled in Obafemi's eyes.
"Yes, the emperor has sent me to take your life. But how can I kill my savior? There is a carriage waiting for you at the end of this meadow. Get yourself to it immediately and get out of here."

Jachim took Obafemi's hands in his and squeezed them and said in a voice full of emotion:
"Thank you."

And then he quickly moved away from there. Obafemi watched him go and the memory of his childhood flashed in his mind, when the magician hunters had gathered around him like hyenas and Jachim attacked them and saved him from their clutches.

Obafemi smiled.
"Now I have repaid my debt to you, dear Jachim."

Screenshot_۲۰۲۴۰۴۲۸-۰۰۰۰۲۱_Google.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @sadaf.alinia! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 600 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 700 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2024