Un triste día del niño / A sad children's day

in Freewriters3 years ago

Piñata.jpg

Día del niño

Acrílico y café sobre papel bond
28 x 21.5 cm
by @saulos


A sad children's day

I remember well that when I was a child, April 30 was a long-awaited day, we only went to school for two hours and it was generally to celebrate. Backpacks were left at home and homework's were postponed until May 2.

That day my only concern was to finish selling all my newspapers before nine in the morning so I could go home to bathe before going to school because I went to the middle shift from eleven in the morning to three in the afternoon. But on one of those occasions I didn’t finish on time, no matter how hard I tried, I finished selling my thirty newspapers after eleven o’clock.

When I got home my mother had my uniform pressed, I took a quick shower and went to school just to see how everyone left. My classmates joked that I had arrived too late, so much so that I did not reach lunch or the delivery of sweets.

I returned home sad and hungry, but as if that were not enough, my mother and my brothers had left, apart from all I was very tired because I had easily walked five kilometers in the morning, I went to the refrigerator to see what I could find but when I opened it I realized that I was completely empty and clean, like my mother had washed it. As I was so tired, I had better go to sleep for a while.

A few hours later the uproar got me up, my mother had organized with the neighbors to celebrate Children’s Day. I got up and looked out the window, as soon as my mother saw me, invited me to hit the piñata, but instead I went immediately to where the food was. My mother was about to scold me, but one of my classmates explained that I hadn’t made it to school on time and that I was probably very hungry. That Children’s Day had a bittersweet taste for me, after many years I still feel some sadness when remembering it.

Un triste día del niño

Recuerdo bien que cuando era niño, el 30 de abril era un día muy esperado, solo íbamos a la escuela dos horas y generalmente era para festejar. Las mochilas se quedaban en casa y las tareas las posponían hasta después del día dos de mayo.

Ese día mi única preocupación era terminar de vender todos mis periódicos antes de las nueve de la mañana para poder regresar a la casa a bañarme antes de ir a la escuela pues iba al turno intermedio de once de la mañana a tres de la tarde. Pero en una de esas ocasiones no terminé a tiempo, por mas que me esforcé acabé de vender mis treinta periódicos hasta pasadas las once.

Al llegar a casa mi madre ya me tenía el uniforme planchado, me bañe rápidamente y me fui a la escuela solo para ver como todo mundo salía. Mis compañeros de clase hacían broma de que había llegado demasiado tarde, tanto que no alcancé a almorzar ni a la entrega de dulces.

Regresé a casa triste y con hambre, para colmo mi madre y mis hermanos habían salido, aparte de todo estaba muy cansado pues había caminado fácilmente cinco kilómetros en la mañana, fui al refrigerador a ver que encontraba pero al abrirlo me di cuenta de que estaba completamente vacío y limpio, como que mi madre lo había lavado. Como también estaba cansado mejor me fui a dormir un rato.

Unas horas mas tarde el alboroto me levantó, mi madre se había organizado con los vecinos para festejar el día del niño. Me levanté y me asomé por la ventana, mi madre al verme me invitó a pegarle a la piñata, pero en lugar de eso me fui inmediatamente a donde estaba la comida. Mi madre estaba a punto de regañarme por adelantarme, pero una de mis compañeras de clase le explicó que no había llegado a tiempo a la escuela y que seguramente tenía mucha hambre. Ese día del niño tuvo para mi un sabor agridulce, después de muchos años aún siento algo de tristeza al recordarlo.


Cenefa-Cierre.jpg

Tanto la historia como la pintura son de mi autoría.
Both the story and the painting are my authorship.

@saulos