Five Minute Freewrite Day 1440 prompr: Happy Hour

It seems to me "happy hour" often lasts for more than an hour. For my daughter and me, happy hour will begin when my granddaughter settles down and goes to sleep, and it will last until she wakes up. We will be happy, and we won't need any alcoholic beverages to make us happy. The baby has been very fussy today, not nursing properly, and not napping properly. I remember I didn't enjoy the tiny baby stage of my own children's lives, because they couldn't tell me what was wrong. I told my first baby to start talking early, please, and he did. He had a good vocabulary by the time he was 18 months old, and continues to be good with words now that he is in his 30s. I was so relieved when he reached the point when he could tell me why he was upset or crying. Little Miss C. is only 5 weeks old and can't tell us why she is so upset. And so we guess. Did her mommy eat something that upset her? Does she have extra gas? Is she just too tired to fall asleep? Does she hurt somewhere? It's all a great mystery. I sang to her for a long time, and she got all relaxed on my chest and I thought she was going to sleep, but then she perked up again and fussed more. We long for happy hour!

Sort:  

😅
The Dynamics of infants.

When I was babysitting my younger siblings years ago or any of my cousins' children, my one prayer round the clock is that they sleep.
I don't mind having them sleep round the clock so I can steal a moment for myself 😅

Yes, that is so true. Thanks for reading and commenting.

It is well known that fiber-rich foods can make a baby fussy. Sometimes something she is eating, like dairy products can not sit well with the baby. Also, I know it is silly, but, perhaps google foremilk/ hindmilk and it is a very real thing. :)

I had a hard time with my first because I was nervous and didn't know what the heck I was doing. Eventually, it all worked out, but, in the meantime, life was a little bit of hell. :)

I can relate to that, and remember those days with the first baby very well, even though it was a long time ago.

Me too. I am well beyond the first baby experience, but, remember it like it was today! :)