You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bean counters, Murderous hunters, Mennonite warlords - Freewrite Writing Prompt Day 2212

in Freewriters5 months ago

Hard work and hoarding every penny possible is the way that generation did things. My father-in-law always said a penny saved is a penny earned and he saved a lot of pennies in his lifetime.

As every day passes it feels more and more like the world is about to implode and preparing for that possibility is something I take very seriously. Being self-sufficient gives me a piece of mind knowing that we will survive unless some countries decide to push the button down and the world is consumed by fire.

A nice tribute to your father. from that last picture, I see that your dad lived for a good long time. That's one thing hard work provides, longevity, even though all of that work may take its toll on one's body.

Splendid artwork by your husband of your dad on his tractor, a piece that should be cherished by future generations.

Sort:  

Thank you so much!!
I'm still extremely frugal - much more so than my peers - but to my parents, I would always look like a big spender. Dad would only buy the cheapest appliances and electronics, then complain that it's all JUNK. My husband on the other hand would consult Consumer Reports and buy the lawn tractor or fridge with good reviews, and pay three times or more what Dad would pay - well, you know the drill.

This!

Being self-sufficient gives me a piece of mind knowing that we will survive unless some countries decide to push the button down and the world is consumed by fire.

I'm on a mission to do more foraging in the wild for herbs, maybe set up a greenhouse for growing my own veggies, or maybe move to a warmer climate (but after 60+ years here I'm finally learning to embrace the long, white winter).

Hard work gives our lives purpose and meaning, and too much leisure is bad for us.

Still: I am sad to see family members "too busy" working to have time for Sunday dinner or a Friday night of board games. Just ALWAYS WORKING or too tired to socialize....