MY STEPMOTHER

in Freewriters3 years ago

14220-mom-encourage-child-daughter-mother-smile.1200w.tn.jpg
source

Marriage isn’t easy. Sharing and having each other backs together forever. Yes! That’s love.

Remarrying barely five months after one’s wife’s death is unfair, it’s an insult to the departed soul and cannot be condoned. But I would like to say this, it was the last wish of my last wife. My conscience is clear as far as this matter is concerned and I hope that even in heavens my action wouldn’t be judged unfairly because I did love my last wife so much. I remarried and got my little girl a step mother, I told Lois the very first day that I married her to be a loving mother to my little daughter and to help her get over the pain of her mother’s death. Though it wasn’t easy, but the lessons of motherhood may not have sounded like music to the new bride.

Four months passed now, my friend is organizing a birthday party for his son, I would go with my daughter Anita. Anita would be as cheerful as a lark in their company. But my intention behind these visits was not merely entrainment but to show off her extraordinary talent. My friends were affectionate towards her and praised her remarkable melodious voice and intelligence. My heart would swell with pride, I would be so happy.

One afternoon, I was at Sir Clinton’s house, he was my close friend, we had no difference, we shared ideas, but this didn’t mean that we shared our pettiness or financial hardships. Even during our meetings we were careful to save our dignity and concealed our ignominy. Suddenly Sir Clinton asked Anita.

“I guess your new mother loves you a lot, doesn’t she?”

I smiled and looked at Anita, knowing what her answer was, because Lois loved her so much. But to my greatest surprise, Anita didn’t answer but started crying, her eyes brimmed with tears. I was embarrassed and speechless, those tears shattered the beautiful image of Lois in my heart. Sir Clinton looked at me with at little disbelief and asked Anita.

“Why are you crying, my dear?”

“I’m not crying. It’s a dust particle that fall into my eyes” she said.

It was natural for Sir Clinton to suspect a stepmother’s affection or maltreatment. But, even I became suspicious. So after all, Lois wasn’t the goddess of love, care and affection whom I haven’t stop praising. When I left his place, I could hardly lift my face for shame consumed me and my heart was heavy. On my way home, I started thinking about the manner I should show her that I was angry, I could she not love my daughter. I thought of being rude to her, she would understand that something has gone against my wish, then I would utter such snide words that would piece her heart and make her cry so much that she would remember all through her life, but then it occurred to me, what if I stared at her innocent and cheerful face with a beautiful smile. A loving glance and a sweet warm kiss would be a enough to knock down my ruthless anger into pieces.
I became annoyed at this weakness of my heart. What have come over me? Why did I change my mind so fast?

Finally, I controlled my heart and still put on a face of false anger. But the moment we got home, Lois rushed and carried Anita on her shoulder and said in a voice that was warm and sweet, filled with love. “Where have you been? Look I have made you sweet cookies.” My anger disappeared in a moment. It was a crime to be angry with such a kind soul, I thought.

I narrated all that happened today to her, Anita embarrassed me so much. Lois was sad, “I have been as careful and loving as I could since the first day, but I think it’s impossible to erase the pain of her mother’s death, the stigma of a stepmother will never be wiped away.” I saw her devoting herself to Anita form morning till night, so much that she wouldn’t even care for me, sometimes Lois neglect annoyed me, but I never mentioned this to her.

One day, I came back from the office earlier than my usual time.. I saw my little girl standing at the door facing inside. What was wrong this time? I tiptoed and gently covered her eyes, but her cheek were soaked with tears. I immediately removed my hands as if stung by a snake, my heartfelt stroked by a lightening, I knelt down towards her and asked Anita, why are you crying?

She swallowed her tears and said.

“No, Dad I’m not crying?”

I embraced her and asked.

“Did Lois scold you?”

Anita sobbed and said, “No, no, she loves me so so much, I’m afraid she might leave me and go like mummy did.”

I couldn’t believe this, hearing those words from my little daughter gladdens my hearts.

“No, Anita she won’t leave us.”

I went to Lois and smilingly told her, ‘ask her why she cries?’ Lois was taken aback, her face looked little perplexed. She said

“No, honey! You tell me.”

“She weeps because you love her so much and she’s afraid of losing you.”

Just as a star in the sky, Lois’s face too became radiant, she took Anita away from my lap and for the first time she kissed her on her head lovingly, and said.

“I will never leave you.”

Sort:  

Hi ubani1,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you @curie for your support.
God bless.

Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Try https://ecency.com and Earn Points in every action (being online, posting, commenting, reblog, vote and more).
Boost your earnings, double reward, double fun! 😉

Support Ecency, in our mission:
Ecency: https://ecency.com/proposals/141
Hivesigner: Vote for Proposal

Interesting story, very intense, a lot happened in a very short time.

Yeah, took me a lot of time, but i am glad you loved it✌💞💞

That moment she says she will never leave is epic in a child’s life very important

😊😊mother's love. So precious
Thank you so much for your support🙌

There is nothing better

Lovely story.

Thanks dear, you have always been supportive..Thank you💞😊

you are welcome

Congratulations @ubani1! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Next Hive Power Up Day is February 1st 2021

Woww... Silly Me.

I was waiting for the big revelation and my mind was telling me that it's going to end as the usual story we normally hear about step mothers and their maltreatment but this completely took me aback and I love the twist.

Well Done

😂😂 i got you..hahaha
Thanks Bro.