@mariannewest's Freewrite Writing Prompt Day 2127: elect me

in Freewriters9 months ago (edited)

vote-4746510_640.png
source

This is a story from my younger days, out of college and in the workforce.
One day, my boss called a meeting of the development team. It was time for a development team leader, and I and one other person were candidates.
He asked me, "Do you want to be the team leader?"
I thought to myself.

I think I'd struggle as a team leader.
It'll be a lot of work, and I'll have to lead a team.
I don't think I'll need to do it, even though my salary is the same.

"I'd recommend someone else rather than me." I said.

I couldn't say, "Hey, boss, let me try."
I regret that I didn't take a chance and try it.

In the modern world, a lot of things are voted on and elected and led with responsibility and authority. Candidates say. "If you elect me, here's what I'm going to do, .... and I'm going to put my body on the line." They say it, but once elected, they don't follow through.
We need to elect well because only the right choices can move our society forward.