The shoes in front of the bed

The girl beside him had by now finished her pastry and was occupied in folding the bag into a neat square, smoothing out the creases with her fingers.
Annoying were his first thoughts. She reminded him in a way to his mother. The woman who should have cared about him but never had. Of course, she said she did her best but 'her best' she only did with her friend John. More precisely Johnny Walker.
"Sorry dear but this was a mistake." He stood up and walked to the cashier to pay for the bill. There was no reason to wait for her answer. For god's sake, her attitude was worse than an eight-year-old and the rest the way she folded that bag... A cold shiver came over him as he stepped outside into the light. A warm breeze embraced him.

img_0.19909346219215882.jpg

The hour was nearly up.
I slowly opened my eyes one by one. Setting the alarm clock was more a habit than a necessity. I knew when it was time to take part in life again. I had made a habit out of taking naps twice a day to be able to be fit in the evening. The night was too long for me to kill time. After my cup of tea, I sat on the deck and watch over the water. Swans chased each other or was it bullying? For a second I thought I saw the floating body again. Carefully I glanced over the bow and leaned a bit closer to the water. How long ago it had been that guy was dumped in my water? What was that yellow piece of cloth? I took my rod and carefully poked into it.
"I wouldn't do that," a voice said.
I startled. Indeed I shouldn't before I knew I was dragged into a police car again and my boat would be confiscated again. It was better to go to a cafeteria onshore and watching people pass by. I knew it was pointless to call the police. If this turned out to be nothing they would call me 'that old fool' again, if it was another body they might think what I was thinking now "this can not be a coincidence".

Her shoes in front of the bed were the only thing that reminded him of her." Enough is enough!" She had shouted this his entire life and finally, it had come to an end. She would never open her mouth again. During the past months, he had removed her items one by one out of the house. She wouldn't miss them since she had her last shot. Moderna had made her blind, blind and deaf. Of course, no doctor cared about the side effects of the latest vaccine. Moderna had come to his aid. He smiled as he thought back on how smoothly it all had gone.
Lockdowns were good for crimes. Social control was over, no one cared, knocked on your door to visit you. Police, doctors' offices were closed. Everyone had better things to do. He picked up the yellow shoes. They fitted great to the dress. She had style,had had style he corrected himself.

img_0.7119871638073019.jpg

A weekendfreewrite with prompts provided by @mariannewest.
Weekend: June 19, 2021

Sort:  

A bewildering story with many anecdotes to make one read between the lines seeing a full story, well done @wakeupkitty.pal I enjoyed this read.

Life!

@tipu curate

Thank you so much for reading and telling me. It means a lot to do.